We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life Saver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rose Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rose Garden
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
South Gate, California
1 review
“Life Saver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had a very good experience at this hotel. Avez in the front office was very helpful. My 3 sisters and I traveled all night from Los Angeles to San Jose for my nephews graduation and were desperate to get some rest, since we had to drive back to Santa Cruz. Avez made it possible to get our room ready earlier than regular check in time. We were very pleased with the room. It was spacious and clean. Also, its close to the freeway, which is always nice. The price was not too bad, considering what other hotels around the area were charging. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOLORES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    46
    48
    67
See reviews for
86
41
29
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here for a week while I was looking for an apartment. As there is a lot of business in the area during the work week it was often hard to find a hotel with vacancy. The availability of rooms here would suggest that the hotel is of lower quality than the ones that were continually booked, but that's just not the case. I never had trouble finding a room, the place was clean and quiet. Plenty of parking, TV and fridges in the rooms. It was also a good value. Avez at the front desk was incredibly helpful and cordial. I would stay here again, no questions asked.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This Super 8 Motel has a good central location in San Jose. It has a well-kept courtyard with a sizeable pool that my daughter and I liked to swim in. The service at the front desk was also very hospitable. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Points to consider
Room smelled old and dirty
Dirty marks all over the walls and doors
Creepy people standing outside their doors watching new guests
Out dated everything
Rude service
Breakfast is cereal, Orange juice, coffee, Apple juice (not worth it)
Even the reception area is dirty
I felt in welcomed and a little scared to leave my window open


I made a reservation online for a room with 3 beds, it was my friends b day celebration. Max occupancy 6, yay there's 6 of us. Before we even left to san Jose I called to ask for additional charges that may not be noted online and was told none except long distance calls. As I am walking around the mall the man who works at the front desk was calling me and asking when I'm going to check in, hey guy relax ill be there, I thought. Very unprofessional in my view. We get there and he sees it is six friends and adds 25 more dollars! He could tell I was irritated so he dropped his addition to 10, and then added a 30 dollar deposit! He asked us if we were throwing a party and I said do we look like it? He pointed to a friend and said she does she looks like she parties allot. Ok, rude again. We pay in cash and he makes a few more rude comments, I leave to the room and he threatens to call the police if he hears any party, come on! The room was smelly, out dated, clean sheets, bedding, bathroom but the walls were nasty and is needing a good painting, the entire motel should be painted. We brushed off the greeting and had a good time. I ended up needing to call the office because people were lurking the halls cussing at 12 am. The next morning he told us goid job on not having a party and I lectured him on profiling and judging. He said he will try to not do that in the future but NONE of us will ever stay there again! Skip that place and stay else where! You have been warned.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellasarita81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Arleta Cal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Avez , Has worked very hard to make sure that my stay is a plesent one. Avez make sure that my room is clean and ready for me when i get in to town every week. This motel is a nice quite
place to rest when one is away from home. Jeff and Avez are a great Team.

Thank you Guys.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My Husband and I happened across the Super 8 Motel while we were in San Jose. I can't say enough about the service that we received. Avez, at the front desk was very kind and helpful. The price was reasonable and the room was lovely. We found the room to be much larger than expected and very clean. Only thing it didn't have, was a coffee machine in the room. But we were able to get coffee with our continental breakfast in the morning. I highly recommend this Motel to anyone looking for a good night sleep and great customer service. Next time we are in the area, this will be the only place that we stay. Thanks, Treva

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stay here at least 5 nights a month. Always reasonably priced, no upcharge for local events. Rooms are clean and huge for the price. Always quiet too. The manager Jeff always handles any issues you might have, if you ask. I prefer this hotel over the others for service and price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#44 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#35 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#28 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#32 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#33 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose Garden

Property: Hotel Rose Garden
Address: 1860 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-1781 (Formerly Super 8 San Jose Airport/Convention Ctr. Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rose Garden is San Jose's newest independent hotel. We have recently converted from Super 8 San Jose and are embarking on a project to develop one of San Jose's premier boutique style motels. The Hotel Rose Garden is located just 1 mile from San Jose's Mineta International Airport. Located on The Alameda off of Interstate I-880, The Hotel Rose Garden is located in The Heart of Silicon Valley offering a perfect place to stay for visitors to San Jose or business travelers looking for a corporate housing in Silicon Valley and The South Bay. With hundreds of rose bushes throughout the hotel, The Hotel Rose Garden invites you to our beautiful San Jose accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area Hotel San Jose
Super 8 San Jose
Super Eight San Jose
San Jose Super Eight
San Jose Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing