We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“San Jose's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft San Jose Cupertino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Cupertino
Ranked #26 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“San Jose's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. This hotel was a welcome after a long day travel up the California coast from Hearst Castle. The front desk staff was wonderful and very helpful. We got a quick way to get to the airport the next day without taking the freeway. The rooms were spacious and very nicely appointed. Great toiletries. Clean. Nice added touches. The breakfast was extensive and had a nice view of the pool. It was within walking distance to places to eat for dinner so there was no need to get into a car and drive. I love this hotel! I wish there were more reasons for me to come to San Jose. If I do, I know where I am staying!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Cupertino, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hello,

On behalf of all of us at the Moorpark Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team as I know they will appreciate receiving your feedback as well. I am glad we met your expectations during your visit with us.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    113
    55
    13
    9
See reviews for
69
77
34
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor (Club Rooms) so you got Cookies and Milk at night, free breakfast and also a 'Club Lounge' which is just a chair and a table. The only problem with this was that you needed your key card to get into the floor, this was a problem because when leaving kids to go to the toilet on the ground floor they couldn't get back up to the floor.

We had rooms facing the Parking Area and Restaurant's but never had any noise.

The breakfast was fairly limited and from what I can remember you couldn't get bacon, sausage, waffles etc but there was toast and cereal.

The pool area was very nice with a good size pool and a jacuzzi. The sort of cabins at the side were also a nice touch.

The location was good for food as there were plenty of places to eat nearby and a supermarket.

The pool table always made for a nice end to an evening and it was brilliant quality.

Also a thanks to the Moorpark staff, who gave us a little hamper to say thank you for our long stay :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie-Jo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Cupertino, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

First of all I want to thank you for your recent stay with us. I am very happy to see that we met your expectations and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was the only "non-generic, non-chain" hotel that accomodated us during our Bay area trip last weekend (me and my wife) and it was a wonderful time. Moorpark hotel is located in a quiet part of a busy commercial area but is quietly and neatly tucked away. It shares a parking lot with Tony Roma's, and is a hop away from Applebee's (food is obviously covered), as well as 2 gas stations (we found very convienient when having to return rental car early next morning). The staff was AMAZING, every single time we passed by the lobby they made sure to say hello, and/or to acknowledge us and make sure we were ok. They also answered questions regarding where to shop, eat and visit in the area. The room was a good size for a 'standard king' , theres a couch and mini sitting area included. Theres a small but adequate business center located on the main floor, a bar that was nice but mostly shut while we were there (a sunday) a billiards/pool table as you get out of the elevator on the second floor (we were in 225), and the best part is the Pool/Hottube area. There are nice cabanas lined up beside the pool, and since the hotel was not busy by any stretch, we enjoyed the outdoor amenities to ourselves :). You're only 5 mins drive from the airport, Westfield Valley Fair mall (a must for shoppers) Downtown SJ, and Santana Row (another must for tourists). They offer a daily breakfast buffet which we never got the opportunity to try out, but it looked great. We enjoyed our one night in San Jose and Moorpark was more than accomodating ! I definitely recommend this to any couples/families looking for a quaint, botique hotel experience that's just moments from the hustle of the city, and not too far from the world-famous San Fran bay. Great times at Moorpark !

Room Tip: Second or Third floors so you can take advantage of the Pool Tables !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDtheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Cupertino, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

On behalf of all of us at the Moorpark Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team at the Moorpark Hotel. I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations during your visit with us.

At your service,
Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This out is not a full service we kiss your butt style of hotel. What they do they do right or attempt to anyway! The staff is decent and can help with all of your needs. The hotel has a great pool area and a Billards table on property. This reminds me of a swanky Hugh Hefner kind of place without all of the women. I suggest hitting the bar as the prices are okay but it is always empty.

Relax by the pool and have a martini while you soak up the rays.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT_oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Cupertino, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello,

On behalf of all of us at the Moorpark Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team as I know they will appreciate receiving your feedback as well. I am glad we met your expectations during your visit with us.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This is an okay hotel, in an area that seems questionable. Rooms were good, but mattresses were quite bouncy, so when one person moves, so does the other. Tried to have breakfast, but decided it was not worth the buffet price with so few choices. Went to a nearby McDonalds instead. Nice area upstairs for groups to play pool or watch tv together.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SM510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Cupertino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Moorpark Hotel. Your comments are very important to us to help us improve our standards of quality and service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon and make your experience a great one.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a little anniversary get-away. (We celebrate our anniversaries at La Fondue in Saratoga. We decided to stay in a hotel that was closer to the restaurant, because we live more than an hour away.) By the way, the hotel is in a pretty safe area near well-lit chain family restaurants. Still, we were happy there was underground parking.

The fantastic: Astoundingly well-designed pool/ hot tub area. I'm not a huge pool person, but this area was very well thought out with its draped cabanas, chaise lounges, etc. providing relaxing comfort that we were glad we'd budgeted a little extra time to enjoy the pool. Even though this hotel is in an urban area, you could hardly tell because they had blocked out the urban sights and sounds with walls and other landscaping. We lounged in the pool and hot tub, then relaxed by the pool. I highly recommend this feature!

The luxurious: We reserved a "club level king" for $121/night, that included a "hot breakfast" (see below) and a room on their fancy exclusive floor of the hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable, with soft sheets and pillows. The furniture was well laid out, and the sofa was a nice touch. They offered warm cookies in the comfortable lounge just outside the elevators. (If we hadn't been going to La Fondue, I might have indulged.) Even though the furnishings in the room and the lounge didn't seem brand new, everything seemed very clean and well cared for.....

Except.....

The bad maintenance: The wooden shutters in our elegant room were broken and supposedly repaired with duct tape. The duct tape was so old and dusty that the shutter slats wouldn't stay closed. During the day, it's not a big deal, because no one can see inside from the outside. However, the light from a nearby restaurant sign poured in through the open slats at night and bothered my husband. (I use an eyemask.) When I complained about it the following morning, the receptionist shrugged her shoulders and said that the hotel was replacing all of the shutters. She didn't seem at all concerned about how that affected people in the rooms with shutters that hadn't been replaced. After I filled out an online survey, a manager sent me an e-mail apologizing for the inconvenience and explaining that the problem had been fixed.

The icky: On the website, it said that our upgrade included a "hot breakfast." When I spoke with first one hotel staffperson, then another to make my reservation, they both confirmed that the "upgrade" included a "hot breakfast." The only thing hot about the breakfast was a tub of slimy oatmeal. Even the pastries in the pastry cabinet were stale. With no sarcasm intended, I have eaten better baked goods from a vending machine. I don't recall if there was boxed cold cereal, but I don't believe so. There was no waffle-maker, which even basic motels sometimes offer. The only thing I found palatable were the hard boiled eggs. My husband and I left extremely disappointed, and we stopped at an IHOP for breakfast on the way home.

The hotel website was misleading about what would be offered, and when I asked for clarification from the staff, someone from the hotel should have told me that the breakfast was simply (pre-fab) pastries and oatmeal. The breakfast was our primary reason for getting an upgrade, and it was a sorry disappointment. I have not received a note from hotel management about this problem.

The annoying: We were charged $2.00 in error after we checked out. I called the hotel. The staff person told me that we must have taken something from the mini-bar. (That is, she blamed us for the error.) I explained that we received a free $10 mini-bar gift certificate, and we carefully calculated which items to choose to make sure we did not go over $10. She reversed the charge, and said that maybe the staff didn't notice that a previous guest took something from the mini-bar before we checked in. I don't believe she apologized.

Summary: The Moorpark Hotel is a very well-designed, clean, quiet establishment that, in most ways, met or exceeded my expectations. The pool oasis area was fantastic. The bed, bedding, and furniture were very comfortable. The maintenance during their upgrade was shoddy, and the staff's response to my concern was disappointing. The "hot breakfast" was nasty, and the hype surrounding it was deceptive. The mini-bar bookkeeping was imperfect, and the staff's first response was to blame me. If you can get this hotel for $110 or less, it is probably still worth it. Avoid paying full price, because you may have big disappointments.

Room Tip: If you can nab a room on the club floor for a good price ($120 or less), go for it. Apparently, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vocalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Cupertino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Moorpark Hotel. Your comments are very important to us to help us improve our standards of quality and service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed there for one night on my way to Yosemite late August and I found the whole place lovely. The man behind the desk was so sweet. The only complaint I had is having a different room that doesn't face the street as you could hear traffic. Yet for the one night it was a great place to stop and a good deal!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorparkSanJose, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Cupertino, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Hello,

On behalf of all of us at the Moorpark Hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the hotel. I will share your kind words with the entire team as I know they will appreciate receiving your feedback as well. I am glad we met your expectations during your visit with us.

At your service,

Isabelle Matter
General Manager
imatter@jdvhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Jose Cupertino
2.3 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#34 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
4.8 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cupertino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Cupertino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Cupertino

Property: Aloft San Jose Cupertino
Address: 4241 Moorpark Ave, San Jose, CA 95129-2029 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Cupertino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft San Jose Cupertino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energy flows and personalities mingle in a setting that combines urban-influenced design, accessible technology, and a social scene that’s always abuzz. Get in the know at our in-touch terminals—easy breezy Internet access to help you find local information and access your email. It’s all at your fingertips and easy to print. Make your way to our business center when you need to work or just chat with colleagues. Plus, you can always stay connected with hotel-wide wired and wireless High Speed Internet Access! Sprint, stretch, lift, sweat—day or night. Recharge on your own timetable at re:charge(SM), our 24/7 gym. Midnight marathoners and energetic early risers will find all the tools for their favorite fitness fix. Jump in and revive! Our splash outdoor pool is just the thing for a quick dip or relaxing respite. Open from morning to night, it’s the perfect aqua escape for any time of day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Aloft San Jose Cupertino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorpark Hotel San Jose
Moorpark San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing