We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“acceptable stay in san jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“acceptable stay in san jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We needed a place to stay when traveling to San Jose for a concert at the HP pavillion. The location was a quick 5-10 minute drive from the downtown area.. The hotel was very clean, the price was reasonable for the area. The breakfast was decent, the front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. No charge for parking. The only complaint I have would be the squeaky ceiling that impacted our sleep everytime our upstairs neighbor moved. We would stay here again (but ask for the top floor)!

Room Tip: If returning, I would try a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apeakhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    134
    63
    29
    8
See reviews for
140
54
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I spent one night (Wed Oct 24) and found this hotel to be very good. It's located near the fair grounds, which is not a great area. There is some shopping and restaurants within 1/2 mile, but I wouldn't walk it if I was female or after dark. Despite the location, the hotel is very clean, the staff friendly, the room was bigger than average, and the breakfast was pretty good (eggs, bacon, oatmeal, waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc.) The beds are comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from adjoining rooms. The windows open fully to allow fresh air. We had eaten at a restaurant and returned to around 7:15 to find the managers reception still open an enjoyed a couple glasses of wine (while watching the Giants smack the Tigers in Game 1) The woman running the reception couldn't be nicer. The exercise room is undergoing renovation so we didn't use it. The pool area is small, but if you have kids and it's hot, they won't care about the size. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeandcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southrn California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my first stay at a Hampton. Having never been overly impressed with the quality-for-price ratio with big brother Hilton, I was pleaseantly surprised with the overall room and facility quality for the mid-range price. Didn't have time or inclination to check out the surrounding area, but indoors everything seemed spotless and well maintained. Staff and breakfast were pleaseat. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, the workstation workable. No complaints - I'll be back...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice! Got a King Bed Study with Sofabed – large room; sofabed are slightly separated from the king bed area. Somewhat smallish closet, but sufficient. Service was good – arrived early and room wan’t ready, but the clerk let us know right away when it was ready and paid attention to my request for a quiet location. Despite being in the San Jose Airport flight path, the airplanes are barely noticeable. One drawback: the shower in the next room is unusually noisy.

Room Tip: If the "Study" is available at not too much of a premium, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheObjectiveCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Typical Hampton Inn. Clean, comfortable, friendly and accommodating staff. Close to plenty of eating places, but also close to some great hiking and biking trails up in the hills. The Fairgrounds are right next door too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A well maintained hotel in a convenient location. Near The Plant (a shopping center with Target, restaurants for every budget, etc). SJ Fairgrounds walking distance away. Off the main drag, so a bit more peaceful, and layout shades cars from San Jose hot sun. Spacious room. Room clean, nice. Standard Hampton breakfast. Oreos on arrival a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiowaVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
378 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Not too close to the airport, but close to the 101 for travels southward. Near a number of cool eateries. With all the usual Hampton/Hilton amenities. The staff here is what makes the place. Everyone was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
9.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
2.8 mi away
The Fairmont San Jose
The Fairmont San Jose
#11 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Address: 55 Old Tully Rd, San Jose, CA 95111-1910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in San Jose where you can relax and unwind, you've come to the right place: the Hampton Inn & Suites® - San Jose, CA. We're conveniently located less than 5 miles from downtown San Jose, the SJ Convention Center and (SJC)San Jose Airport. Plus, we're close to great local attractions like Great America amusement park, Raging Waters Waterpark, the Winchester Mystery House, and Santana Row Shopping District. You'll find it all just minutes from our comfortable San Jose hotel... Stop by and see what we have to offer! We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing