We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Lanaken, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not again”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

As a regular business traveler, I opted for this ESA North because it was near to a business I had to visit. Stayed here for only 3 nights but did not feel comfortable at any time. Rooms are clean, but not updated. Only found out next morning, that my window did not close (inch open), so I woke up early from the noise outside and reported at the front desk. Should be fixed by my return in the evening; but no. Got another room at the 1st floor of which the window derailed when opening; finally got a 3rd room that had no window problems.

Room Tip: Probably not in this ESA
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ca_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property M, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent review of Extended Stay America San Jose Edenvale. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not enjoyable. It is our mission to provide the best accommodations to our guests each stay. We have strict room check measures in place to ensure that this type of issue doesn’t occur, clearly we had a breakdown in that measure and I sincerely apologize. All window and door locks should always be 100% functioning in any room prior to a guest arrival. I assure you this has been corrected and will not be an issue in the future. We are also in the process of starting a complete renovation at this property that will update the rooms and guest commons. We would enjoy having you back at our hotel to show you our re-doubled efforts at making things right for you. At any time, please feel free to call the front desk and ask for a member of management and we will be happy to take care of your reservations personally. With Hospitality, the Management at Extended Stay America San Jose Edenvale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    7
    21
    38
See reviews for
18
8
2
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff were friendly but not so accomodating. When I asked for extra towels (we were playing in a hockey tournament), I was told I would need to bring my dirty ones down to the front desk to get clean ones.... huh?
I mistakenly stayed at this hotel, thinking it was the one next to it (Residence Inn - which I highly recommend).
Pillows smelled like old bed head, comforter was stained. The room was not very well stocked... sugar packs but no coffee or even package creamer. The kitchen utensils were minimal - no wine glasses - boo!
Location is good across from a grocery store and easy access to the highway.
Overall I was really disappointed and couldn't wait to get out of there - the room looked clean but the bed felt old and icky.
I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDwatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property M, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America San Jose - South - Edenvale. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. The description you presented of your accommodation is not representative of our quality standards. In order to meet our standards, we have strict procedures which are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring: in particular, we replace linens with fresh, clean bedding and inspect all rooms prior to making them available. I take your comments very seriously, so, I have met with our hotel management and staff to prevent such a situation from occurring again. This includes the lack of our coffee amenities provided in the room. We are in the process of a complete renovation at this hotel and we are doubling our efforts to ensure complete guest satisfaction for all our guests who stay with us.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Santa Clara, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good hotel was excellent for me, If you are going for a long time or vacation. It's well located, near to all principal transportation and close to 85 and 101. The service staff was excellent all the time, Rooms were always clean on time, and they always provided nice attention.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Extended Stay America San Jose Edenvale North. I am so pleased to hear that our hotel was conveniently located close to desired shopping and dining and that you were treated well by our staff all during your stay with us. Our mission is to provide excellent service each and every stay to all of our guests, whether you stay a single night or for long term. Maintaining a home away from home atmosphere is what we are all about. We are very thankful to you for taking the time to let everyone know of your great experience with us. We Hope that you will come stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area. With Hospitality the Management at Extended Stay America San Jose Edenvale North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for a long time now. I agree that there are a few things that needs to be changed, I would say this is a good hotel. The staff esp Mitchell, Samir and Veronica(the cleaning lady) do an excellent job. They are very caring, owns responsibilities and above all show commitment to their work. I am satisfied with the overall approach to the customers. Rooms are spacious, most of the cleaners do a fine job and above all, the support staff does a responsible job. On the other hand, their breakfast is not so good. It just fits to the bill of being called a BREAKFAST, a very average one on the optimistic side. Apart from that, it is a decent hotel, a good one for location and the money paid. The staff makes this place a lot more comfortable with their good service. I should say that, and A+ to Mr Mitchell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Extended Stay America San Jose Edenvale. It’s great to hear that our staff made you feel so welcome during your stay with us. We will pass on your thanks as well as ours to Mitch, Samir and Veronica for their outstanding service and dedication to our guests. Our companies commitment to providing clean, comfortable rooms coupled with excellent service makes it no surprise to us that you had a great experience during your stay. We are indeed making many changes to our hotels including refreshing all our rooms and guest commons for our guest’s future enjoyment. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future should your travels bring you back to the area or that of any of our over 680 locations nationwide. With many thanks the Management at Extended Stay America San Jose Edenvale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Clean rooms, very friendly staff, well maintained property at a very good value for the area.

To all of you with negative comments: obviously you had enough time to concentrate on small, unnecessary things. Do you really think somebody will read a drama-review of 20 pages?

Think positive and do not forget you are a guest only :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine009_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We would like to express our thanks for your kind review about Extended Stay America San Jose-Edenvale. We are pleased to hear that you gave us an opportunity to show you we are all about our guests comfort and satisfaction during your stay. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms at a great value stay after stay. We hope that you will continue to stay with us at this location or any of our other 680 hotels nationwide during your travels. We would be happy to have you stay with us again. With Hospitality the Management at Extended Stay America San Jose-Edenvale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here recently hoping to find a great deal. However $99 rooms are priced that way for a reason. The negatives are old dated looking rooms (although they said this was remodeled recently), mediocre cleaning and no daily room cleaning. They told me to bring my sheets down to the front desk if I wanted them changed. Really? The second floor towards the staircase has a funky smell and the place seems to attract suspicious looking people. The positive is that it is cheap, the location is great and the wifi works pretty well. This won't be on my preferred list in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fiftyonefifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing guests with the amenities and service they require for an enjoyable stay at an exceptional rate. In the case of housekeeping, our standard service schedule provides one full housekeeping after every seven days stayed, with the option to purchase additional housekeeping services as desired. Operating our business in this way allows us to continue offering the same great rates to which our guests have become accustomed. We are happy to have a member of our staff deliver fresh linen to your room if requested, I am very sorry this was not communicated to you during your stay. We are also in the process of continuing to update and refresh our hotels so that we are sure to keep up with industry standards and the expectations of our guests. This is very important to us as a hotel chain.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one. I hope we have addressed your concerns satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had the unfortunate experience of staying at the Extended Stay America while waiting for our house to be remodeled. We had maid service once in 6 months and only because I requested it. We had to get our own towels and more often than not they didn't have any so we had to use stained towels from a bin they had. The bedding had holes most of the time. We had to ask for toilet paper. Their pool is not heated and the pool towels are the size of hand towels. There were three of us and we were given three plates, two forks and one knife in the room to use. The only pot and pan were burned. One of three windows had a screen, although we asked numerous times. This is definately not the hotel to go to if you have a child. They have no children television channels - except for cartoon network which changes to adult swim at 6PM which you don't want your child to watch. No Disney, No Nickeodeon, and none of good channels for adults either, but they do have Showtime so if your child changes the channels, the possibility of them finding someone having sex on tv is quite high. The hall carpets are stained, you have to empty your own garbage, and they don't even have any dressers to keep your clothes in. And for the cost, you'd think they could at least afford to pay for clean towels! Two of their dryers were broken the entire time we were here. The front desk closes at 11PM, so if you have a probem after 11PM, forget getting assistance in any way. If you are staying only for one night, this hotel would be tolerable, but if staying longer, I suggest going next door to the Residence Inn - now that hotel knows how to treat their customers, they heat their pool, and have clean towels and bedding - and with maid service!

Room Tip: Go next door to the Residence Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorporateSkirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America San Jose - South - Edenvale. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South
11.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#30 of 75 in San Jose
108 reviews
5.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#49 of 75 in San Jose
90 reviews
11.4 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#48 of 75 in San Jose
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North

Property: Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North
Address: 6199 San Ignacio Ave, San Jose, CA 95119-1389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Jose - Edenvale - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay San Jose
San Jose Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing