We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for San Jose Conference”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Fantastic location, exemplary service. Right in the center of downtown San Jose and connected to the convention center - easy walking or light rail to countless resturants and attractions.

Service was fantastic, rooms clean and staff very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of the San Jose Marriott! It is always great to hear about positive experiences and how our service was exemplary. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for San Jose Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 958 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've stayed here multiple times on work trips. This is a very nice hotel with a great / attentive staff. I always workout on work trips and can say they have a really good workout facility (especially for a hotel). The Arcadia is a fantastic restaurant (expensive but fair price for the quality). They have a great wine selection. The only hit is the cost of parking but it is downtown San Jose so that is expected given the location. I will definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank CO-Heres_to_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the San Jose Marriott. Your detailed comments regarding your multiple stays with us are greatly appreciated as we aim for a consistently enjoyable guest experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our great workout facility and high quality dining options. Customer service is a main priority of ours so we are especially happy to hear that you continuously find our staff to be both great and attentive. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great location, fantastic service and friendly staff, close to everything and there are numerous places to eat within 5 minute walking distance. I have stayed at this location multiple times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SteveBfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the San Jose Marriott! We appreciate all of your positive comments as they are extremely helpful in making our hotel offer the greatest guest experience possible. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and nearby dining options. Customer service is something we pride ourselves on so we are especially pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and offer fantastic service. Your strong recommendation and loyalty are also greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again in the future to offer you another great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband & I have stayed here at the SJ Marriott twice in the last couple of months and have had the best customer service from Spencer at the front desk of the hotel. He treated us with so much respect and kindness and made us feel special as a silver elite member. We visit San Jose often and will definitely choose the Marriott to stay at.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Jr. Suite at a corner overlooking the park.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Calista2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of the San Jose Marriott! Thank you for your kind comments about Spencer and our customer service. We look forward to passing along your positive feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have stayed in many Marriott hotels however the San Jose Marriott is one of my favorites. As you may know, there are several choices for hotels in the downtown San Jose. And I've stayed in most. By far the most helpful and caring staff is at the San Jose Marriott. From the front desk, to the restaurant, even house keeping, all the staff I encountered were more than gracious and helpful. We stayed in an upper level deluxe room. Great layout and newer, modern bathroom. Plus a great downtown view. Beautiful. Next time you're looking for a place in downtown San Jose, forget other hotels. Stay here!

Room Tip: Upper level with park view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 10JCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience at the San Jose Marriott! We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand. Thank you for your positive comments on our helpful and caring staff as well as the hotel facilities. We look forward to passing on your kind comments. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This Marriott is right in Downtown San Jose and is next door to the convention center, which has pros and cons. It is convenient, but events going on at the convention center may impact your stay.

I was at the San Jose Marriott during a volleyball tournament and my stay was mostly fine, but there were a few minor inconveniences. They were not serving the full breakfast menu, which was understandable but still disappointing given the great breakfast plates that the hotel restaurant Arcadia typically offers. Someone pulled a Bart Simpson in the elevator and pushed the buttons for each floor (a long elevator ride was the result). Using valet was very crowded. In addition, I heard someone pulled the fire alarm, which caused two floors to be evacuated in the middle of the night.

Still, there are pluses here. Service is consistently very good like other Marriotts. The Concierge Lounge (for Marriott Rewards Gold and Platinum members) has an open patio high up on the building that features individually plated dishes at night and a very impressive breakfast (including a potatoes dish, a waffle bar and two breakfast meat options). The Concierge Lounge also offers mid-day packaged snacks. If you are spending a lot of time in the South Bay, this is still a good option for a long or short stay especially if you can take advantage of their often reasonable weekend room rates.

Pros: Comfortable hotel with some upscale touches (Michael Mina restaurant, nice lobby, nice Concierge Lounge), friendly service, reasonable room rates on most weekends, in-room safe.

Cons: Expensive valet parking, potential inconveniences depending on what is going on at the adjacent convention center, the rooms could feature more exciting decor (though I hear an update is on its way).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the San Jose Marriott! We appreciate your honest feedback, both positive and negative. Your comments help us to continuously improve the guest experience. We are glad to hear that enjoyed our service throughout the hotel and the Concierge Lounge. We hope that you will join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everybody is always so helpful and caring. Can't wait to stay again it's awesome have stayed at Marriott twice and both experiences have been good. It's so close to so many building very convenient to walk to events than to take taxis.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralph0943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the San Jose Marriott! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as our caring and helpful staff. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
642 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $189 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing