We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Great Location”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Busy hotel but great service and very nice rooms. I was upgraded to a suite on my most recent trip and the space was decadent with a living room and seperate bedroom. The lounge is lively with good bar food or regular menus. Good variety of restaurants in walking distance, can easily valet the car and not need it until the next day. Highly recommend if you are in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jimed323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanh you for the excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    354
    142
    55
    25
See reviews for
131
98
56
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Marriott San Jose quite a few times over the past few, as well as some other local hotels. As a Marriott Gold member, I tend to try and stay at Marriott properties. For downtown San Jose, this is probably the best choice.

The hotel is modern and clean, and the staff has always been very friendly and helpful, including the valet, concierge, bar, front desk, and lounge.

Views are great from the concierge lounge.... and nice outside area.

Not inexpensive.


Just a few "cons" to share:

1) the parking fee is a bit excessive at $29/day. Valet was very quick though in retrieving the car.

2) The concierge lounge begins tearing down breakfast the minute it is scheduled to end, sometimes even a few minutes before. It would be more appropriate to have perhaps let it remain for 5 or 10 minutes past the time scheduled to end......if it says 9:30 and I arrive at 9:28, still expecting to be able to enjoy it.

Will definitely stay again (and very soon)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHLflyer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review and suggestions for improvement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Marriott is always my hotel of choice whenever I travel with work and it hasn't failed me again. A number of colleagues recommended I stay at the Fairmont but I personally thought the Marriott was superb and will continue to stay here when in San Jose.

Staff were excellent. Extremely friendly and always willing to help.

Rooms are spacious, clean and well furnished. Had a king bed which was very comfortable and plenty of pillows.

Gym is good enough, with a number of cardio machines, resistance machines, cable crossover and dumb-bells.

Swimming Pool is excellent. My wife was with me on this particular trip and whilst I was working she was able to swim in the heated pool and enjoy the hot tub.

My only slight gripe was breakfast. During the week you have to order your breakfast selection in the restaurant and it's pretty slow (which is also a positive I suppose as you can see the chef's are cooking it fresh), but when you are in a hurry it's a bit of a pain. At the weekend a breakfast buffet is on offer and it would have been excellent if this would've been offered every day as I personally prefer it to ordering a set menu.

I wasn't there for a conference, but the hotel connects to the convention center next door so it's an ideal location. Hotel is also very near all the downtown San Jose restaurants and the 23/323 bus stops to take you to the shopping mall if thats your thing.

Excellent hotel, and definitely my choice next time I'm in San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cussmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had a good stay here and somehow scored a very good rate though the city was at capacity by the time my convention came around. My only complaint was that the WiFi wasn't included in any of the rooms, which these days seems pretty rare. Very convenient to the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinaj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the good review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been a Marriott Rewards member for many, many years. Stayed at many different Marriott locations all over the world, and yet, none of them impressed me as much as this one did. And to top it all off, they did it in the midst of being a host hotel for the CA State Bar Convention - at full capacity. Everyone from check-in, to the concierge lounge, to the valet was friendly and had service to the customer as #1 on their list. I never saw anyone just standing around. Everyone was just waiting to be helpful and friendly. The staff went out of their way to check and make sure I was having a good experience. If you have to be in Downtown San Jose, I could not think of a better, more central location to place yourself. The view from the concierge lounge on the 26th floor is breathtaking. Valet service is prompt and friendly. I'd be back here in a heartbeat. In fact, I'm upset I didn't stay here the last time I was in San Jose last year.

Room Tip: As for a corner room if possible. Great views, lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the WOW review, we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

You will pay for a 5* and get a 3*.
For a business hotel, WiFi is not included and is an additional $13 for 24 hours - and you will have to sign in again every 24 hours.
The conceirege level was OK, snacks of fruit and peanuts are out all day with breakfast in the morning and hor derves after 5:30.
It could be better if snacks included olives and crackers instead of dry, juiceless fruit adn chips. A healthier option would be preferred, especailly at the price paid.
The rooms are quaint and clean and the staff is soemwhat helpful.
When asked where a good restaurant is I could walk to, I was told I had to take a cab and the only place within walking distance was Subway.
I turned left out of the hotel and found a lot of cafes and restaurants - the staff either did not know about the area or did not care to mention it to me.
The pool and fitness centre are clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the honest review. Our staff is generally well educated ion the bounty of dining options just outside the front doors...your comments will definitely help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during mobile con. Had a small quiet room on the fifth floor.
Very nice service and clean rooms. Pricey mart. $9.99 for a sandwich compared to $4 subway fresh across the street.
$12 internet...annoying and should be included in the $239 rate per night..

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
638 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Property: San Jose Marriott
Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing