We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Jose Marriott
Nearby Hotels
$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Anza(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$164
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin San Jose(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolce Hayes Mansion(San Jose)(Great Value!)
$220
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveler rating
392
376
146
58
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
376
146
58
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungeconvention centercorner roomvalet parkingattending an eventwould stay here againtech museumroom servicevalet servicefront desk staffdowntown arearooms are nicelight railbusiness tripenjoyed my staybusiness travelersilicon valley
Filter
Updating list...
709 - 714 of 999 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Got a very nice deal for the weekend. We actually arrived very early around 10 am, but were able to check in right away. Being a platinum member, we got upgraded to a nice suite on the 18th floor. Lot of windows makes the room look bigger. Room 1800 has beautiful views!

Positives: smooth check in, free upgrade (didn't ask), comfy bed, free bottled water, late check out, beautiful lobby, excellent location and yummy food in Arcadia.

Negatives: Lounge closed on weekends, no free breakfast for Platinum members, towels are so thin and harsh like sandpaper, in room safe was missing (but delivered later on). Asked for extra pillows upon check in, but never got them until asked again.

Lots of windows, but they get so hot, therefore room gets warm. Window in closet with stained curtains-tacky. Previous guest left some tissue stuck in peep hole in the door-tacky.... makes question housekeeping services.

Over all it was nice. Will stay again if price is good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aruba2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Aruba2004 thank you for giving us such a high score despite the negatives you noted. Rest assured this valuable feedback is being reviewed and followed up on by our operations staff so that we can continue to improve our service levels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is located downtown next to a nice square, many restaurants, the convention center, IMAX theater and other attractions. The rooms are well appointed in traditional Marriott colors. ask for a room at the end of the hallway, as they have larger windows that go around the entire room. Reception staff and bellman are very professional and fast. My only issue is the overwhelming orange fragrance they spray all over the lobby. You feel like you entered a candle shop. Breakfast is plentiful and served in a nice setting. The same place doubles as an excellent restaurant in the evenings, but the atmosphere is cold and If you are traveling alone you might want to consider dinner or happy hour at Il Fornaio, across the street inside the St Claire Hotel, which offers a more home like atmosphere and excellent food, The Executive Lounge on the top floor serves nice evening faire as well as a good breakfast which includes hot items. Overall this is a modern and comfortable property with very well trained and courteous employees.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

RCL, thank you for your comments, we appreciate the good as well as the critical. Your comments help us provide a better experience. We hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Parking is 29.00 a day, and takes more then 20 minutes, for the staff to bring your car around. Plan for that. The rooms are very plain, nothing notable about them at all. There is no fridge and no microwave. The furniture looked, and felt cheap. The pool was small, and the black concrete tile around the pool got very hot, very poor design, and I think the spa was broken, because the water was so hot, I burned my toes when I attempted to enter. The restaurant was very expensive. I spent 115.00 on four people for breakfast and there was no alcohol on our ticket.
I loved the gym, it was huge, a great bonus for me and my wife, and the eggs benedict was the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

2tuckers, thank you for your constructive comments. We appreciate the feedback. Our hotel is starting a complete head to toe renovation next year. We just reopened are expanded and redesigned Starbuck's outlet and the hotel guestrooms, lobby, concierge lounge and meeting facilities will all be brand new this time next year. Your feedback will help with our choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just left the San Jose Marriott after a few days attending a conference. This hotel is very nice. The rooms seemed a bit nicer than the standard Marriott and felt close to JW level. The concierge lounge was nice and bright with good offerings. The hotel is actually connected to the San Jose Convention center. I ate in the restaurant and it was good. Room service was a bit spotty and out of some selections at breakfast. Overall a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor. The lounge is in 26.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Gu, thank you for your review and the great feedback. Sorry to hear about your in-room dining experience. Our hotel actually just became the best rated hotel in Marriott's Western region for in-room dining so our Chef will certainly appreciate the feedback so he can continue to improve on this service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

So stayed here many times in the early 2000's, came back for a few nights and it is showing it's age, its in a good location, parking is a bit expensive, rooms are dated, overall nothing special. I will say that nothing went wrong and nothing exceled. The executive lounge needs some help, it has limited seating and seems to be crowded all the time. I would stay here again but I would also look around for a better property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSecure98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Anthony thank you for your candid comments. Fortunately the hotel has reached an age when we are able to put together a complete renovation schedule that will happen in 2014. We are very excited about the updated design and hope that you can return to see it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews