We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never failed me”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had to stay here for my house was being renovated. I have to say, the staff is very professional. I was able to fully utilize the fitness center and the restaurant. Rooms are very nice but a little noisy. Can't blame the hotel though this is not my residential neighborhood. Don't hesitate to book a room here. Overall i am happy that the renovation is completed and Marriott provided a comfortable stay. Thank you Marriott keep up the good job.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor if you are a light sleeper
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Ryan, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your renovation. As you might have noticed we are having our own renovation taking place next door at the convention center. A brand new 125,000 square feet is being added and due to open in September. This may have contributed to the noise level. We hope that you will return again sometime after to see the difference. Maybe just a getaway to enjoy the pool during our Indian Summers? Thank you again for the great comments. -Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for San Jose Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 958 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently stayed here on business and was pleased with the condition of the property. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. My only draw back was that our group did many activities on Santana Row which is about a 20 dollar cab ride away. Otherwise the property and its location is great for Downtown San Jose

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the great review. I love Santana Row myself and wish it were just next door! There is a bus that goes direct down San Carlos Street but a cab is always faster. We hope you might return sometime soon and also try the Public Market at San Pedro square which is about a 10 minute walk. It has mostly food vendors but it is a great place to try gourmet treats and their large bar and outdoor space as well. Thanks again for recognizing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The San Jose Marriott is a well-located property if you have a meeting or activity planned in the downtown area. We were there for the weekend as a getaway and used a great parking/breakfast included rate. The price/value was good, but there were a couple of things I didn't like:

- Scent. The entire hotel has an overwhelming floral smell. Maybe it was a recent deep clean or maybe just a housekeeping supply run amok, but as an allergy sufferer, this was a real problem for me. Since it's a downtown high rise, the windows don't open, so no real opportunity to air out the room.

- Internet. Ok I understand it's a full service hotel so Internet not free, but isn't it time to rethink that policy? The entire lobby and restaurant were full of folks on iPads, phones, etc. trying to stay connected.

- In room coffee. Isn't it time for hotels to give up on the one cup coffee maker? Or if you're going to use this system, don't you need to at least provide enough supplies for 2 or 3 cups?

Positives were the room was very quiet, well-pointed, and modern. Bath was nice as was furniture and tv. A standard but well maintained and clean room.

Restaurant was excellent. The breakfast menu had some interesting items you don't see every day. It's pricey, so a good place if you're on an expense account or have a breakfast included rate. Bar kind of same category - fun cocktails but not cheap. Valet was efficient with retrieving car, but again quite pricey.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CherHaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for reaching out, we really value your opinion about the ambiance and services at our hotel. While it is our brand standard to offer a scent in the lobby, it should not permeate the building and we certainly will make sure our engineering team is aware of this. Although wifi is not complimentary in our guest rooms, it is in the lobby (and in all downtown San Jose). Thank you for these comments as well as the suggestion for in-room coffee service, we will take your input into consideration for the future service of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here several times, however, my last visit in August 2012 was not enjoyable. My stay at The Lodge at Sonoma Renaissance Resort & Spa was totally at the other end of the "Pleasure" scale, everyone made me feel welcomed. It's regrettable for hotel staff, especially the ones you initially meet when checking in, to ruin your trip before it even starts. Only Housekeeping had the initiative to brighten our days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for letting us know that we did not meet your expectations during your last visit. It is our goal to acknowledge our repeat customers for their loyalty and continued patronage. We are happy to hear our housekeeping staff was up to par and your comments will go a long way in our efforts towards perfecting our service across the board. We hope you will return and give us another opportunity to take care of you in the future.

Additionally, if you would have time to provide further details of your experience here I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally. You may reach me at joel.costa@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place. My husband and i stayed here and really enjoyed our stay. Staff was very helpful with anything we asked. Its nicely decorated and rooms were fantastic.
We loved the location as we could walk to a few restaurants near by. We did go into the lounge as well.
We found that for what we paid it was a great value. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMichelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us how much you valued your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I usually stay with Hilton properties but this time around, HH hotels were expensive and thus I went to my last resort - Priceline and got a wonderful deal for this wonderful property and i didnt regret my decision to not earn points even one bit.
The location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown San Jose, very close to SJU airport as well. The lobby is grand, check-in was smooth. I was on a very hectic business trip and thus didnt get to explore the hotel much but I did have the breakfast everyday which is expensive but totally worth it - It has a lavish spread with made to order omelettes so do try it.

Dont have much to write about the property but a great tip which can help some bucks is that you neednt rent a car from the airport. Since the airport is so closeby, you can take a taxi and then utilize the Enterprise which is within walking distance of this hotel. Since rentals are expensive at the airport, you can instead rent from this Enterprise. And to sweeten the deal further, the Enterprise guys there are kind enough to let you part there at night which can save a straight $25 per night which you will end up paying at the hotel.. Now, shhhhh and dont tell anyone and instead enjoy those extra bucks ;).

Room Tip: The hotel has around 26 floors and due to its proximity to the airport, you can see the planes fly b...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderer-nammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week while in town for training. The training was actually held in the hotel's conference area so I barely left this place! I had reserved a king room but they didn't have any available when I checked in. That was the only drawback but the double bed was comfy and had nice pillows.

Staff: very helpful and friendly.
Area: There's not much going on around that area and not many places to eat so it's good to have a car

I asked the front desk how much a cab ride would be to the Caltrain station and they told me $20 but it's actually only $8 before tip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yabutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
641 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $188 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing