We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place. My husband and i stayed here and really enjoyed our stay. Staff was very helpful with anything we asked. Its nicely decorated and rooms were fantastic.
We loved the location as we could walk to a few restaurants near by. We did go into the lounge as well.
We found that for what we paid it was a great value. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMichelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us how much you valued your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 963 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I usually stay with Hilton properties but this time around, HH hotels were expensive and thus I went to my last resort - Priceline and got a wonderful deal for this wonderful property and i didnt regret my decision to not earn points even one bit.
The location is perfect, right in the heart of downtown San Jose, very close to SJU airport as well. The lobby is grand, check-in was smooth. I was on a very hectic business trip and thus didnt get to explore the hotel much but I did have the breakfast everyday which is expensive but totally worth it - It has a lavish spread with made to order omelettes so do try it.

Dont have much to write about the property but a great tip which can help some bucks is that you neednt rent a car from the airport. Since the airport is so closeby, you can take a taxi and then utilize the Enterprise which is within walking distance of this hotel. Since rentals are expensive at the airport, you can instead rent from this Enterprise. And to sweeten the deal further, the Enterprise guys there are kind enough to let you part there at night which can save a straight $25 per night which you will end up paying at the hotel.. Now, shhhhh and dont tell anyone and instead enjoy those extra bucks ;).

Room Tip: The hotel has around 26 floors and due to its proximity to the airport, you can see the planes fly b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderer-nammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week while in town for training. The training was actually held in the hotel's conference area so I barely left this place! I had reserved a king room but they didn't have any available when I checked in. That was the only drawback but the double bed was comfy and had nice pillows.

Staff: very helpful and friendly.
Area: There's not much going on around that area and not many places to eat so it's good to have a car

I asked the front desk how much a cab ride would be to the Caltrain station and they told me $20 but it's actually only $8 before tip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yabutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lots of smiling faces everywhere, from the front door to the service counters to the staff. Like that. Concierge lounge provided a very respectable breakfast. Like that. The internet service was ridiculous. completely ridiculous. First, it's $12.95/day, which is just another fee for business travelers that needs to go away. Second, and much more irritatingly, the OneView/Guest Tek service that manages the Internet service is horrible. I am very computer savvy, but was extremely irritated by the inability of the service to reliably let me roam, use a second device (iPad), resume a 24-hour session, etc. The ridiculous software stack for the service was hopelessly confused, perhaps due to DHCP problems, configuration problems, etc. "Passwords" for rejoining a current session did not work, became confused by alternate locations, etc. If you're going to extort the 13 bucks per day for a basic and expected service, it should work, and work reliably not just under pristine conditions. Two tips- for light sleepers, intentionally avoid rooms that point toward the SJC airport and Convention Center. Aircraft noise and construction activity may disturb you. Second tip- grab a low floor to avoid the incessant stopping of one of the four elevators serving the guest wing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the Convention Center or SJC to escape construction and aircraft noise. Low floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Typical big city hotel that didn't miss the segment of "things that travelers don't like": $29 valet parking and $12.95 Internet svc. You can reduce some of the parking sting by avoiding the hotel valet and parking at the adjacent conference center for $20. There are some coffee shops nearby where you can get free Internet.

Hotel is very nice with marvelous beds. I recommend a higher level room to to reduce the street noise. I will be back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank gobige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived on Friday night during a busy weekend. All car traffic to and from the hotel is quite an experience. Allow for more time than normal. Location is very central to many venues and downtown business. close to San Jose State University. impressed with the weekend crowd downtown and the many events available to the public.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Our visit coincided with the end of a teen soccer tournament so as we're checking in they were checking out but not departing. It took over 20 min to just turn into the tiny valet drive and we ended up double parked and just getting out. Either the staff was not prepared or just incredibly inefficient and they never apologized. When we called for our car it also took 15-20 min and there was no one else waiting at 845 in the am. The shower had the horrible water saving head so it spit water. Otherwise room and lounge was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BotRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#11 of 75 in San Jose
1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#23 of 75 in San Jose
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $183 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing