We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient to convention center”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient to convention center”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel. Great location connected to conference center. Coffee makers in room did not do a good job of making tea. A lot of traffic noise on 5th floor - moved to 20th floor was much quieter. Expensive charge $20/night for internet access. Seemed high.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor to avoid traffic noise from Market St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunshinecoast2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    354
    142
    55
    25
See reviews for
131
98
56
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was on the 19th floor. Here is somethng new....fast elevators during a convention! My room was spacious and had nice working area for my laptop with plenty of accessible plug ins. The bed was wonderful and there is coffee in the room. My only request would be to have a fridge in the room....this is pretty common anymore and I was surprised not to find one. The location is great....nice area to get out and walk around and if you are there for a convention...you dont even have to go outside to get to the hall. Internet is not free!!

Room Tip: Probalby any room is fine....its on the corner of busy streets but still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here while attending BBJam Americas for 4 nights. My only complaint is the internet. It is expensive, and intermittent. Signal in my room is weak and I have no other option than to use LAN cable for my notebook, and left the other gadgets disconnected.

The room is neat, clean, and tidy. Basic amenities such as iron, iron board, coffee maker, tv with paid channel, bath tub, comfortable bed and pillows.

Location : near to Tech Museum, parks, public transportation.

Room Tip: Don't forget to bring your AV connector to play media from your own notebook or gadgets on the T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatRayau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great property, staff was excellent, very nice. The only thing that was annoying was Internet connectivity was inconsistent and not very effective.
The staff really made this hotel excellent, always helpful and very polite, always willing to help and provide information.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRS184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night while attending a wedding and although we enjoyed our stay I was surprised at how quickly the extra fees and taxes added up. Let me start by talking about the positive points. The front lobby was very open, modern and inviting. We stayed in a corner room on the 5th floor... it was clean, spacious and had a nice view of the downtown area.
The service people we dealt with were all helpful and professional. No question about it...it was a very enjoyable stay.
Here's my complaint/concern...we paid $179 for our room which I thought was fair for the market. What I wasn't anticipating was $26 for parking, $12.50 for Internet use in our room (in all fairness it is free in the lobby) and three different room taxes that made the actual cost of the room another $50 more. I usually do a better job of researching that sort of thing so I was a bit surprised. Another TA poster had mentioned free parking in "room tips"..that has obviously changed. The additional costs certainly diminished the value of the original price of the room.

Room Tip: As other have mentioned higher rooms and corner rooms seem to be the best value. Don't worry abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldNorCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very nice hotel but with a few odd quirks. On the positive size, the room I had was pleasant and quiet, the king bed comfortable, but the room was a little smaller than I'm used to in hotels of this class. The public areas of the hotel are quite nice, and the restaurants and bars are top-notch. It's also conveniently located a half block from the light-rail station.

But, it has its quirks. First, when I entered I immediately noticed an unusual and strong herbal odor -- not unpleasant, but definitely unexpected. It may have been incense of some sort. Couldn't place the smell, but it might affect some people who are sensitive to such things.

I ate dinner in the steak house, which is very nice although nearly empty the night I was there. The service was OK but a bit amateurish. The prices, however, were through the roof. Food was very good, however.

The hotel room had a relatively large flat screen, about a 40-inch LG of recent vintage. However, it received only analog stations, and even the hotel channels were in analog rather than digital, rendering a distorted, blurry picture. Very disappointing for a hotel of this class and price.

All in all, it's a decent hotel, better than the Hyatt or Hilton, but not up to the Fairmont located a couple of blocks away (also very close to a light-rail station). The Fairmont has an equally good but less expensive restaurant, too (The Grill). If you have a choice, stay there. If not, the Marriott is a good second choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great location. Beautiful and nice decoration. Lobby is clean, nice with great atmosphere... Staff are well-trained and helpful. There are lots of IPads in lobby for guests to check things around. Lots of things to do around hotels. First street has lots of restaurants to eat. Love this place and will stay on next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerUSA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
638 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Property: San Jose Marriott
Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing