We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The San Jose Marriott is a good hotel, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay their again. The accommodations were comfortable and quiet, and the hotel is adjacent to the convention center, which was extremely convenient.

However, to me the hotel seemed a bit disorganized, for three reason: First, one night the hotel restaurant was closed, but there was no sign indicating this or pointing out that the dinner menu was available in the hotel bar; I had to ask at the front desk to find this out. Second, I asked for foam pillows, and I got one the first night but then it subsequently vanished. (This was not so bad, because the pillow was one of the more uncomfortable foam pillows I've used.) Third, at checkout, there was a mistaken extra charge on my bill; they did fix it quickly and graciously. All put together, none of this would discourage me from staying at the hotel again, but it does cut my rating down to 4/5.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank a_traveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    342
    137
    53
    23
See reviews for
126
97
53
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was staying in room 2221 and was bitten by bed bugs and also found them on my body. The Management did not really care and have made no effort in contacting me following my report.

The previous night I could smell a strong toxic smell in my room and in the hallway, I am wondering whether they were already aware of the infestation and were spraying the rooms in advance.

AVOID THIS HOTEL !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank geem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FacilitiesSanJose, Director of at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Marriott cares greatly about every guest’s experience. We take hotel hygiene and
sanitation very seriously. As a result, Marriott has established very strict standards of
cleanliness for all its hotels that either meet or exceed public health department
regulations, including pest control. Upon being made aware of this concern,
we responded immediately by bringing in Ecolab who did a full inspection and found no bed bugs in the room or hotel.

Director of Facilities
San Jose Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Apart from the valet guys, the service at this hotel is horrible. Everyone seemed unhappy and inconvenienced. They charge for everything and only offer free wifi in the lobby and charge by 15 min blocks in your room. For a hotel that markets the business traveler, it seemed highly inconvenient. I stayed here with my family for a wedding, but shortened my stay to one night from two and checked out early. The lobby has ridiculously loud nightclub techno music 24/7 and the food was horrible and overpriced. Parking is expensive $25 for valet and $18 overnight in garage. No assistance offered if you park in garage. Floors dirty in bathroom and an average hotel room. Beds were comfortable though. Will not be staying here again, or any Marriott for that matter. Holiday Inn Express would have been better.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsol37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The rooms are clean and pleasant. Fairly quiet apart from noise from the corridors as people walk past. Location is excellent, in center of downtown, easy walking to museums and restaurants. However the staff seemed very disorganized and rather brusque. At 5pm on a Saturday there were only two check in desks open and we waited more than 20 minutes to check in. Later that evening, we called valet parking for our car and after waiting for 10 minutes, asked if they could check where it was - and were told that they had the wrong ticket and had brought over someone else's car. So we had to wait another 10 minutes for our car to arrive and were late getting to our event. The following morning we asked if we could leave our bags for a while and the attendant said he was busy and to go to reception to leave them there - where we waited for another 10 minutes while they checked guests out. Not quite what you'd expect from a Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
209 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

It was average overall, which was disappointing when thinking it would be a luxury stay. Granted, being on the 24th floor had spectacular views. We reserved a corner room, thinking we'd have big windows 90 degrees. I should not have expected the windows to be joined with panaramic views. The windows were divided by wallspace. Kind of a small thing perhaps, but that was a letdown from our expectation.
The location was great, close to sightseeing with the Tech Museum and restaurants right by. If you like loud restaurants the hotel's is for you. Room service food was uninspired and bland. It is all non-smoking facility though.
The room was older looking, long, so it didn't feel large. Pretty standard amenities in the room except for the bed, which was the excellent Marriott beds we expect. But NO fridge or micro AND no phone books. How odd. I've never seen a hotel without phone books. This made it very difficult for us, we use them to browse, eat out and shop. I had to call the office to ask questions and information for each and every local business. The front staff seemed of average help, smiles but uncommitted.
Now, parking. Use of a valet is mandatory, so know that going in. It is very tight to pull in to the valet spaces at times, but they do hustle. Expect to give tips. We got valet included in better corner room price, but it is added on extra otherwise.
When we got our bill, I realized they had charged for all our local calls! It's not much per call, but still it was a surprise and I had not seen that practice before. In otherwords, we felt nickle and dimed.
We say stay out farther of downtown, pay less, and you may get more for it. We were hoping for a romantic long weekend, going to a concert and sightseeing. Definitely put a damper on it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I visited there for conference with my 4 year old son, father and my younger brother last summer. I enjoyed everything except pool service. It was pretty cold in August. The view from the 17th floor was as good as the San Jose haze allowed, and the room was nicely furnished (if a slightly odd L shape). The room had enough light, was dark enugh at night and had a decently long bathtub (also it was too cold to use the outdoor pool and hot tub). Beds were comfy. However, four elevators meant long waits to get up to the room because hotel was full with attendees of conference. Also, parking space was limited, hard to find the space. The other was good. The staff was nice, everything was clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahslddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alta loma
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

The staff was excellent and tried their best, but when you can't get to your car due to restrictions and there is only valet parking it ruined our stay. The small entrance off a busy street is a disaster. The rooms had very small television sets, but worse, you have to pay over $10 for Internet. Add that to the $25 for valet, the $30 for room tax, add to that disposal tax and the like and our suggestion is to look elsewhere unless you must stay there. Again, the staff is great, but the management is inflexible.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecarfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.0 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#20 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Property: San Jose Marriott
Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing