We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super challenge”

The Ranch Golf Club
Attraction details
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A super challenge”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most challenging golf courses in the Bay Area. I've never played a course with the elevation changes one experiences at The Ranch. Bring lots of balls as this is target golf at it's best. Lots of good Internet deals, just watch for them

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ball hog but memorable”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is one of those courses that people either love or hate. Although it eats me up and spits me out, I keep coming back here because I love the challenge, scenery and value. It simply has some spectacular holes, with a few that are probably the toughest in northern California (#2, #8, & #12 in particular if playing back tees).

There is no driving range, just a very nice putting green, so suggest you hit balls at the Los Lagos driving range if you want to warm up (10 min. away). The front 9 is way more difficult than the front, so don't get too discouraged when you're halfway done.

Two other suggestions:
1. Stock your bag with lots of balls, because there are a few holes that if you don't hit the fairway, your ball will disappear over a 100 foot cliff.
2. Don't get tempted to look for your lost ball as there are rattlesnakes and ticks.
3. Don't beat yourself up, just have fun. I play the back tees with a friend and we have a rule on the first tee to "hit until you're happy" as it's a downhill shot with a 230 yard carry to the fairway).

After the round, be sure to enjoy a drink, some hors d'oeuvres, or dinner at the club house. There's a good selection of draft beer and the food is really good.

Enjoy, and remember what Tiger Woods once said to an amateur friend, "You're not good enough to get upset."

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Harmser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful course in the mountains of San Jose”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I lived right near this course when we lived out in CA and I took all our out of town visitors here for a round. Really beautiful, challenging course built into the mountainside. Very nice place.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ObyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
600 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Challenging course with fantastic views”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This course is not for beginners. Bring lots of balls. It is very hilly with forced carries and precise landing areas. You will use everything you have in your bag to come up with a decent score.

That said, the views are outstanding. On a clear day, you can see all the way to San Francisco. Sometimes it is hard to pay attention to where you are hitting because of the views you might be missing. There is also abundant wildlife on the course with the male turkeys during mating season being the most interesting.

The course has a clubhouse with a restaurant. Parking is adequate. No driving range except for a place to hit into nets. A cart is a necessity. Sign up for special email prices.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to The Ranch Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing