We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is just a bit above average. I did not care for the way our room was set up and it was rather small. It was impossible to watch TV from both the bed and the fold out couch. And the viewing angle from either was awkward. We had a very nice kitchenette complete with dishwasher and all the necessities. Bathroom was nice, very clean and set up well. Bed linens were soft but pillows were marginal. Breakfast was good but nothing special. Hotel has a coin laundry and it came in handy. The one great feature of this hotel is it's proximity to grocery store, eateries, discount store and pharmacy. All within easy walking distance. If you prefer to drive, there is a large parking garage there. When I return I will see if there are any other room configurations available that I would like better. This is still a nice comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 626 and as stated above, did not like the way it was set up. If you have no interest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MINIdriver07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt House S, Sales Coordinator at HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear that our location and facilities were to your liking. For future stays, our one bedroom suite is a little more spacious and the TV configuration is set up differently than our other suites. Perhaps this room will be more comfortable for your next stay.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us! If your travel plans bring you back to this area in the near future, we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Sincerely, Hyatt House San Jose/Silicon Valley Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 577 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 days. I was provided a "wheel chair" friendly room although I didn't need one. Because of the wheel chair friendly design, there is no ledge keeping the water to flow out of the shower area, each showers will cause the toilet flooring to be totally flooded till the room has been clean the next day. On the 2nd day, I left my race belt's water bottles and the bottle cap in the dishwasher. When I return in the evening, the housekeeper has activated the dishwasher but caused the cap to dropped to the bottom of the washer. The heating Element of the washer destroyed my bottle cap making it unusable. Careless housekeeper, must have slam the tray in hard.

Although the bar close late, they stop serving snacks much earlier. The only way is to purchase frozen snacks from the front desk and heat it up with the microwave oven in the room.

Otter than the above, the hotel is just like other hyatt houses, pleasant to stay in. The breakfast menu don't change much, so having stayed in 2 hyatt a houses over a fortnight, I was getting tired of the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helicraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Thanks to all the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to book here. Stayed here for a weekend. The bed was too soft for us though. However, it is in a very convenient location with free parking, free Wi-Fi, right off the freeway, and in a strip mall that has a Target, pharmacy, and some fast food. You can see that the owner/management takes care of the hotel with a lot of heart. The free breakfast was amazing, one of the best we've had at any hotel! There were little things that were appreciated:

- Breakfast:
- Omelet station
- Finding the butter on top of ice near where the yogurt was placed
- Lots of fruit, even had papaya one morning
- Soy milk for lactose intolerant folks
- Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea
- Free earphones in the gym for the TVs
- Friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckbamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Why yes, yes we do and the HYATT House is a perfect place for a family or business traveler. Of course, the City of San Jose is a clean and pleasant place to begin with, and the HYATT House provides a nice entry point. The property is situated near a pharmacy, Target, and many fast food options. The rooms are well appointed and front desk employees were friendly and helpful. If you are planning a stay in San Jose . . . this is a good option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay. We enjoyed our stay very much. Our only complaint was noise from the neighboring room which was quickly taken care of by a call to the Front Desk. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shell345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I both really like this hotel. It’s the pick of the litter for parents visiting Santa Clara Univ. even though it’s twenty minutes north. We've stayed here five times over the years. It's pretty new, the decor is modern. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean. The internet is free as is parking. There’s also a refrigerator and microwave in the room. There’s a complimentary hot breakfast with an omelette station, pancakes, cereal, fruit juice and coffee. The property is a short walk to a brand new mall with CVS, Target and restaurants. A good place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvguy90274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is great for a family. You can save a lot of money on foods. I highly recommend this hotel if you are a family traveling with children and want to save money on meals. Its located in a plaza with Safeway supermarket.
Parking is free. It reminds me of a Marriott Resident Inn. Nothing fancy inside the hotel but there is a place for you to cook. Room is a little old, but clean. Breakfast has a good variety and free. However I didn’t care for breakfast because I had better at the upscale Hyatt, but for a Hyatt house I guess it was ok.

This place used to be owed by some hotel call Sierra and the bill say the same thing. Overall I like this hotel and think it a good deal for the money. I would choose this over the Hyatt House in Downtown if you don’t care to be in downtown San Jose.

Room Tip: I choose the room facing the plaza so I can see people shop. Not really much view at this hotel in g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CloverIsSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
6.8 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,418 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,545 reviews
6.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley

Address: 75 Headquarters Dr, San Jose, CA 95134-1357 (Formerly Hotel Sierra San Jose - Silicon Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $131 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley delivers guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 164 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating . Providing easy access to Highways 237, 880 and 101 with San Francisco just an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing