We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Pedro St., Hot spot needs a Firehouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firehouse No.1

Firehouse No.1
Reserve with OpenTable
Firehouse No.1 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 2,142 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Firehouse No. 1 Bar & Grill is a outstanding San Jose destination when you're looking for great food, delicious drinks, and friendly people. Gastro pub quality fare made from scratch in addition to impressive daily specials. A vast and well stocked bar that includes hand crafted cocktails in addition to draft and bottle beers, and select wines. Be sure to participate in the occasional whole bar sing-alongs, or cheer the bartenders on as they prepare exotic flaming drinks and smash bottles behind the bar. Lots of LCD screens when there is a sporting event or Sharks game - or just digital flames all around late at night. Open from 11AM until 2AM weekdays with happy hour from 3pm to 7pm. On weekends, open from 4PM until 2AM. We have full table service both inside and on the patio. Patio heaters when its cold.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“San Pedro St., Hot spot needs a Firehouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Chicken breast seasoned to perfection. Recommended by our server and she was correct. I started with the shoestring fries for a appetizer. Don't know what the mayo dipping sauce was but it made for a great new taste treat!
Love the outside seating. Friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1randy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pub, with very interesting food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Small menu, but don't let that dissuade you. The food is awesome and very well prepared. Also there are meals that you wouldn't expect as bar fare lie bone marrow. Great beer selection too and the waiters are always willing to make recommendations or give you samples of what they have on tap. Close to the SAS Center so great for pre- or post- game activities! Just be aware in the spring the trees do drop a lot of pollen so if you have allergies, your stuck eating indoors instead of enjoying the awesome patio!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So disappointed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Had some American friends flying in from Mexico to get married and we were driving down from Piedmont to join them. Since they were being married by County Clerk in middle of day after having just flown in, we wanted to taken them for celebratory meal afterward, which meant middle of the afternoon. Searched web for San Jose restaurant that served all day! This one's website said they did but when we arrived about 3:30pm, were told the kitchen was closed to prep for dinner and all they could offer was bar food. And that was only mac & cheese, wings or fries, which turned out to be mediocre at best.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have visited this bar a few times now, first time I had a bone-in ribeye (very large thick cut) with a side of their brussel sprouts. Very good. The second I came to try the pork-belly sliders, but alas, they were out of them. So I went with their flank steak and again the brussel sprouts (yes I have a thing for their brussel sprouts). So far all the food has been excellent, and there is a good assortment of craft beer which is to be expected from a gastropub.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
394 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Good Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

A better option for outside seating and people watching than most of St Pedro joints, this is a normal restaurant with decent service and good food. The steak was excellent, and even the beet salad was perfectly made. Wine choices are limited to some low end selections, one would think they could get decent wines in the Bay Area to go with the steaks served.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse No.1 also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse No.1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing