We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Mezcal Bistro & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Mezcal Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 2,185 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 1st Street and Market Street
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stopped in here for dinner and the food was really good and the mango margaritas tasted great. Had the Chicken Milanese and my with had the Carne Asada tacos and they were really good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ticomex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    62
    22
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I loved this bistro. Excellent food, staff, venue. Couldn't ask for a better evening. A must go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Try the fried grasshoppers!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went here for dinner with a couple of colleagues as a way of evading the convention crowd. Nice, relaxing dinner with authentic, flavorful mexican dishes. I cant speak to the margaritas as I was doing my Patron silver neat.

I had to try the fried grasshoppers, if only for bragging rights. Actually not bad - spicy, slightly salty and certainly crunchy. Served with guacamole and chips. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“atmosphere, service and great food & drinks”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

decided to try Mezcal for the 1st time while in San Jose on business. i was there early, around 5 on a Saturday night. there was a small line by the time that i left.
the staff were all friendly and proactive but not bothersome. the indoor seating is an interesting space, but i'm glad that i took the patio option, which is covered and private but spacious.
the mezcal based drinks were so good that i never tasted a margarita.
the sampler plate has 4 different Oaxaca items which were all very good and it is very large. the chips and mole are also good, as were the salsas.
i would definitely retrun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandRLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Oaxacan food”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you have ever been to Oaxaca and you enjoyed the moles or the frijoladas, you must try Mezcal. They have a lovely outdoor seating, the dishes are quite original and the ambiance and service is extraordinary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sejs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezcal Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mezcal Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing