We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice piece of art”

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
Ranked #8 of 132 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice piece of art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I visited this church twice and it's good place to visit. Color combination, statues are very decorative. It's excellent piece art where they shown the journey of Jesus with meaningful messages.

Helpful?
Thank vikas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    55
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
342 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very California Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Attended a weeding here. The church is very nice. Large but not real big. This is not a tourist destination. No airconditioning

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

i liked the building and the simplicity of the church design inside. i was wondering why there were no kneeling pads.?.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pippinllanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Basilica inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This cathedral is a gem in downtown San Jose. It is possible to sit and move around the Basilica for moments at a time to take in each angle and every painted area and ceiling. As beautiful and majestic as European churches. It is outstanding. It is sometimes not convenient to park in the area and be prepared for metered parking or paid parking in a nearby garage. Depending on the day, there may be homeless congregating nearby but don't let that stop you from visiting this lovely church.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoseGarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
305 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“A feeling of Peace....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited early one morning at 9:30. We parked the block over but it's $1.00 every 15 minutes with a $20.00 maximum. We walked in and there was a feeling of peace. It was simply breathtaking. We stood there for the longest time in a daze at the beauty. There are no words that can describe this Cathedral's stained glass, ceilings and displays. We walked slowly around and sat for 15 minutes just trying to take in all the beauty. There were 2 tour groups going on at the time. As we exited there was 2 boxes. One for the cathedral's maintenance and one for the poor. Please give to one or the other. Then as we walked out it was time I am guessing for the poor to get something but don't know what it was. It was from the building next door. As you walk out the front door to the right there is gift shop. They opened at 10:00am and we had an apptmt at 11:00am so had to head out. I could have spent an hour there easy just sitting in meditation and prayer. We only paid $2. but there were other places to park. We were just in a hurry.

There was also a museum next door that we were going to come back and visit but didn't make it back. :( Boohoo.......so save some time for that also however don't know anything about it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Metaksams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing