We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mission style church” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
80 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
408-283-8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 109 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful mission style church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Well worth checking out in downtown San Jose. Beautiful architecture and spectacular inside. Close to parking and the Innovation Museum

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanHOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“California Mission Feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The interior and exterior architecture and decoration mixed elements of native american, spanish missionary and late 19th century in a unique manner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Cathedral is a MUST see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was totally caught off guard by the beauty of this Cathedral. They just don't make them like this any longer. I thought I was in Europe, it was that special.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fzyv4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very informative and interesting. The lady that gave me the tour was so friendly. She took her time to show me around and explained the history to me. Really worth visiting this historic cathedral.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Awesome, Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Take time to visit the Cathedral, to spend a few minutes reflecting on the beauty of the surroundings and the peace that envelopes you when you enter this sanctuary. Pause and give thanks for the blessings in your life. This is a beautiful place of refuge in the City of San Jose.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#