We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“California Mission Feeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
Ranked #7 of 121 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“California Mission Feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The interior and exterior architecture and decoration mixed elements of native american, spanish missionary and late 19th century in a unique manner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    48
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Cathedral is a MUST see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was totally caught off guard by the beauty of this Cathedral. They just don't make them like this any longer. I thought I was in Europe, it was that special.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fzyv4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloubergstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very informative and interesting. The lady that gave me the tour was so friendly. She took her time to show me around and explained the history to me. Really worth visiting this historic cathedral.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Awesome, Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Take time to visit the Cathedral, to spend a few minutes reflecting on the beauty of the surroundings and the peace that envelopes you when you enter this sanctuary. Pause and give thanks for the blessings in your life. This is a beautiful place of refuge in the City of San Jose.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

One doesn't associate high architecture and cathedrals with SJ--but this one is special and wonderfully restored....try and catch a concert here....you will not be disappointed!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing