We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique sight in San Jose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
Ranked #8 of 132 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A unique sight in San Jose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

San Jose does not have many cultural sites to visit. This cathedral must be at the top of the list. It is beautiful and historic but also features a striking modern central altar and the extraordinary modern wooden pews of an artist whose name I unfortunately forget. They are museum-worthy.

The stained glass and architecture also make this a memorable place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    55
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chruch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is very nice Catholic church for Prayers. My wife had very blessed time. I would strongly recommend this Church

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gem in the heart of a very busy city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Cathedral is a wonderful piece of history for the 1800s. It is still in use.. So if you do chose to go in (I did) please be respectful. The ceilings, art and stained glass windows have a classic beauty. On the back side of the main alter is a small prayer area with a beautiful marble and gold lead design, make sure to go around the back. Again,this is an active place of worshop so quiet voices and hold your childs hand.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

While in downtown San Jose I stopped in to view the cathedral. I found it quite amazing. The architecture and stained glass are inspiring. I was respectful to those worshiping and did not use a flash for the few photos I captured. I highly recommend a visit here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMojoRising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Have been to the Basilica on previous visit and found it amazing. This time around working with wedding coordinator who gave me schedule wedding ceremonies for view. Husband, bride to be, fiancee, and self attended a mass which in this big European feel church made the wedding seem private even with tourist observing. Was a a beautiful service-simple and elegant-at the same time. If in San Jose-stop in-view the beautiful ceilings-walls-Saints-when you leave will have a sense of peace.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing