We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful !”

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
Ranked #7 of 136 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Beautiful !”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Historical huge church right downtown.Close to downtown hotels and train. A must see if you are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank swcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    60
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McCall, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful ... Stunning Architecture”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This small but stunning cathedral was truly breathtaking. I would definitely recommend taking a tour of this cathedral.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SJBriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Beautiful Cathedral!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

It is a historical church and a wonderful experience for anyone on matter what religion.
I went to this church when I was a little girl and it brings back memories. I went to a wedding there a few years ago and it was lovely.
My Son and I were at a meeting in downtown San Jose and went there in early afternoon and what a special church and place. It is so peaceful and specticular. Thank you San Jose.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dra_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Lovely place to celebrate Mass. Have done a fine restoration job. Each time we have been here, we are glad we went. Beautiful stained glass and a great place for first communion & confirmation celebrations.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gourmands155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a tour, which is offered for free. Our docent told us lots of history of the church. It is a beautiful Cathedral.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing