We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Winchester Mystery House
Ranked #6 of 136 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour the house and gardens once owned by wealthy widow Sarah Winchester, who kept construction going on the 160-room Victorian mansion for 38 years.
Barrie
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Fun to see the odd adaptations made to this rambling old house. An interesting distraction for an afternoon. May have been more fun to be able to explore the house on our own than with a tour guide, since it was designed to get people disoriented and lost. Worth one visit anyway.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pbursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    793
    391
    141
    63
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kids still talk about this”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

After a 1,200 mile vacation through Santa Clara, San Fran, Redwoods, and crater lake - this house and the tour was our kids favorite. Sticker shock for entrance prices, but again, kids absolutely loved this house!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Winchester House was a great tour.”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This historical house was a great choice for us. We chose the 65 minute tour, which is 1 of 2 to choose from. It was app. $30.00 each to see the inside of this famous home. The quirks and kinks of the "mystery" house were well explained by our guide. We enjoyed discovering the many rooms, hearing about the non-stop construction, seeing some beautiful antiques and also the only photo ever taken of Mrs. Winchester, the owner. There is also a firearms museum outside which is free and acres of gardens which is free. It's a nice mix of antique display items and "for sale" items in the gift shop, which is where the tour ends.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really unique attraction that scares you and educates you”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

What a great attraction. Learn the history of the odd widow and her husband's business history.

Can be a bit corny but definitely impressive to see. Great for kids.

Helpful?
Thank TheNutleyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A unique experience!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I'm a fan of the bizarre and I have been interested in visiting the Winchester Mystery House since I was a kid and I'm very happy to say that it lives up to hype, though I'm sure it helps that we had a great tour guide. Just walking on the grounds and getting a scope on how absolutely large this house is awesome but the mansion tour really seals the deal. If your into the bizarre, the strange, and the unexplainable this is a great attraction for you. I did both the Mansion tour and the Behind The Scenes tour. If this is some place you've always wanted to go to do both, if you have slight interest I'd just recommend the mansion tour. I must say that this experience lives or dies through the telling by of the tour guide. Thankfully we got two great ones both times, but once you see the mansion tour its hard to one up the weirdness that it contains, so I think the behind the scenes tour has to do a lot of make it interesting.
Great attraction if you are driving up to San Francisco or are in the area its worth a look.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scottydukes42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winchester Mystery House also viewed

 

Been to Winchester Mystery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing