We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$136
View deal
Tripadvisor$136
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$141
Priceline$136
Hotels.com$136
Traveluro$166
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,761)
Filter reviews
1,762 results
Traveler rating
882
499
207
106
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
882
499
207
106
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residential neighborhood beautiful property pool and hot tub fitness center wedding conference event lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 1,762 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Excellent service and lovely room. Going back for a second time this next week. Can't wait to try out the pool. It is a treat to the eyes upon arrival. Beautiful old home surrounded by parks and trees.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianaKingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickM-AFOM, Manager at Hayes Mansion San Jose, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2019

Thank you so much for allowing us the pleasure of hosting you and for sharing this wonderful feedback. Our staff strive to provide each guest with a stay worth raving over and it is always gratifying to receive positive guest comments such as yours. We are thrilled to know you plan to return, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

If you want service, don’t go to Hayes Mansion. I recently had knee surgery and was walking with a cane. There are few parking places close to the rooms. I had to walk a long way after parking. Then I could not find the room! They just give you map of the buildings but won’t show you your room. No one shows you how anything works in the room. You are on your own. I asked for a bucket of ice and I was told I can find it on the second floor knowing I had to have a first floor room because of my knee! Friends came to meet for breakfast but they were only serving a brunch for $45.00! We left and went elsewhere. The rooms are old... the curtains were broken. The bed was ok. No amenities ... not even a real glass! Only plastic cups! If I knew all this I would have found another place instead of spending a lot for not much! I ended up being in pain the next day from all the walking I had to do to stay there!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickM-AFOM, Manager at Hayes Mansion San Jose, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Thank you for choosing the Hayes Mansion and for submitting a review of your visit. We regret to learn you were less than satisfied with the distance you had to walk from you car to the room, and to the ice machine. We do our best to assign guests to rooms nearest to an open parking spot however there are certain days when the spots fill up and guests unfortunately are unable to park directly outside the assigned room. For guests seeking assistance with luggage, our Bell Service agents are happy to provide this service to and from guest rooms. We are further dismayed to hear you were not able to join us for breakfast which is available in our Silver Creek Restaurant from 6:30 am-11:00 am at $18 per person. We hope to welcome you back for a future stay, so we may have another opportunity to provide you with the flawless stay we had envisioned for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

The Hayes Mansion's lovely grounds are a major asset for business travelers who want an opportunity to enjoy San Jose's weather. Located in a residential neighborhood the hotel can be a challenge for visitors without transportation, however it is a pleasant change of pace.
Unfortunately, once you go inside you'll find the hotel is worn and fraying at the seams. HINT to management, duct tape even if needed shouldn't be a part of the design scheme. Moreover linens should not be so old that they have holes. And stretching your staff so thin as to have room service trays left outside of guest doors for more than a full day really does not align to the polished exterior.
Sadly lovely grounds cannot overcome a trifecta of bad quality: comfort, cleanliness and food.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
3  Thank TripleLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickM-AFOM, Manager at Hayes Mansion San Jose, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2019

Thank you for choosing the Hayes Mansion as your host, and for sharing the details of your visit. While we are happy to learn you enjoyed the physical attributes of the property, we are dismayed to hear you were less than fully satisfied with the rooms. There are plans to remedy many of your concerns and we hope to welcome you back for a future stay that is worth raving over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

We stayed here with my wife for a couple of nights. It's an old mansion / estate built at the beginning of the last century by a family with wealth from Midwestern iron ore mining and California orchards. The property has a number of really well appointed historic rooms (e.g., old library) that are worth seeing. There is a nice pool area and fitness room as well as an extensive garden to enjoy while walking. The rooms are OK and could use an upgrade but there is nothing wrong with them. It's totally worth visiting to reflect on how this area has changed in the last hundred years. It has a clear whiff of old history, back from the times when Bay Area had orchards and ranches, rather than freeways, subdivisions, and office buildings.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trav-a-lot-from-Cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickM-AFOM, Manager at Hayes Mansion San Jose, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your visit to the Hayes Mansion, a visit which included relaxing by the pool, strolling the scenic grounds, and basking in the rich history which envelopes the hotel. We thank you for mentioning your historical insight regarding the property, as well as the many amenities you encountered during your stay. Again, thank you for choosing the Hayes Mansion, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

The grounds of this hotel are magnificent. You would not expect it as you drive into it. The room we were given was fine. quiet and well appointed. It was in an attached wing but it was not easy to get there from the main lobby. Had to carry bags from the parking lot which was a little distance.
We were led to believe that there was a restaurant as part of the hotel but come to find out it is only open on Sundays for brunch. There really wasn't any other restaurants close to the hotel.
It appears that the mansion caters to large meetings, weddings and special events and not to those only staying a few nights..

Room tip: Stay in the main hotel
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickM-AFOM, Manager at Hayes Mansion San Jose, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your visit to the Hayes Mansion. While we are pleased to know you were satisfied with the accommodations and the beauty of the grounds, we regret to learn you were inconvenienced by the walking distance from the parking spot to your room. There are over 400 parking spots on property and some are indeed further out than other's, especially on days when we host large events so please accept our apologies for this inconvenience. We want each of our guests to feel special because they are, regardless of whether visiting for business or leisure, so we are truly sorry if you were not made to feel this way. In regard to dining options, our Palm Plaza Lounge is open for dinner 7 days a week, 4 pm- 9 pm Sun-Thu, and 4 pm-10 pm Sat/Sun. Our Silver Creek Dining Room is also open 7 days a week for breakfast and lunch. We apologize if this information was not made available to you during your stay. We hope you will allow us a future opportunity we welcome you back, so we may provide you with the flawless, enjoyable stay we had envisioned for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews