We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute for a quick getaway on a saturday night. Even though I have lived in the bay area for 20 years I had never heard of this hotel and didn't know where it was. You drive through a residential area and all of a sudden there is a Mansion set in lovely gardens! We only stayed one night but it was great. The room was nicely and newly furnished, spotless and quiet.
We went down and had a drink at the outside patio area which had firepits, heaters and comfy chairs. The service was a bit slow but not a big problem.
We got an amazing rate including a full breakfast where again the service was a bit off but the food was good, I would easily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jillycalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We truly appreciate getting the opportunity to help create a wonderful memory.

Now that you found us we look forward to the next time and opportunity.


Till thing only the best of everything to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    411
    149
    70
    46
See reviews for
339
350
54
459
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Beautiful grounds and wonderful staff made this a pleasurable stay in San Jose. Property is close to major highways but feels secluded. The pool and hot tub are the cleanest I have ever seen and the gentleman who maintains the pool grounds deserves high praise for his pride in his work. The pool itself is salt-water chlorinated and the water quality was excellent. Rooms are nice but a little dated and the air/ventilation system heeds updating, however, this should not discourage anyone from visiting this property.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool and was quiet...even during the weekend of July 4. The hotel hosts wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here while touring the San Jose area. Was able to check in early the first day. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Great room - very spacious and well appointed. Comfortable bed and soft fluffy towels. Convenient having a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much sharing your wondeful stay experience.

We truly appreciate your opinion and your business.

Take care until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding. See other reviews below. I agree that this mansion is a prime location for weddings in the summer so if your looking for tranquility this is not the place: lots of weddings and lots of kids. For a wedding venue it is amazing! For a vacation night it is an amazing deal but like I said be prepared for a lot of people. It is located in a residential area so there is also the necessity of driving some distance.
Pros: great price, clean, amazing grounds, pool area is classy
Cons: weddings ( although great if your in one) aka lots of people and kids.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CAS
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were looking for a local R&R venue where we within a half hour of Mountain View, and somehow I remember I'd heard of this place. We only stayed one day and a night, and net, net, it was not bad, and considering the $159 we paid (hotels.com), excellent. The property was converted from an early 1900's mansion by the city of San Jose (which still owns it) and is run by an independent contracted hospitality company. It's located at the south end of San Jose, next to a large city park. Pros: unusual, squeaky clean and polished, beautiful grounds, nice bar and restaurant with very good drinks and food, comfy beds. The Sunday morning buffet (at $15) was good, not great. We didn't use the spa services, so I can't comment. Con #1: they host LOTS of weddings, especially in spring and summer, and sure enough, there was a giant Indian wedding and its associated parties going on during our stay, complete with sitar, tabla, and later, Indian disco music.Thus our stay was not as tranquil, ahem, as we'd hoped. Suggestion: if tranquility is what you're looking for, I'd definitely call ahead before booking to make sure you're not going to run into something similar. Con #2: because they do attract families as well, you're likely to run into a bunch of kids. The pool was overrun with kids the day we were there, but we don't mind that much. If you are looking to find a relaxing pool away from kids, then this may not be the place, depending on who else has booked. Con #3: Service varies, depending on what your expectations are. A nice gentleman takes drink orders by the pool, but if you want to order food you have to get up and use a phone to call room service. In the outside patio area, service is slow and spotty, or seeming non existent at times. In the bar and restaurant, however, service was excellent and attentive. Bottom line: We'll probably go again, as it's close, and for the price, a terrific bargain.

Room Tip: Call ahead to make sure you're not going to be there when they're hosting a giant wedding. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fair-But-Tough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

There was a wedding and reception at the hotel. Beautiful! But at 1:45am the music was still so loud that the floors, bed, bathroom, etc were vibrating so much that we ended up leaving the hotel instead of trying to sleep there. We paid almost $200 To lay in the sun at the pool for 5 hrs! Disappointing that we weren't offered a discount or anything for our discomfort

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bish1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan A, Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for giving us your honest feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding your experience with us. We would love to have you back on property and leave you with a positive lasting memory. Please feel free to give us a call anytime. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our 1-night stay in this beautiful hotel. It's a little off the beaten path but only a 15-minute drive to downtown San Jose. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are quiet and nicely furnished. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet. Since our daughter is an incoming freshman at SJSU, I'm sure we'll be staying here again. Room rate was about $100 cheaper than the hotels located in downtown San Jose, too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calif_laur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Please look up myself, Jonathan Abrahamson or our General Manager Yves Hansel on your next visit so we can chat a bit and say hello.

Take care and congrats on your new student.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,220 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
952 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
637 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Property: Dolce Hayes Mansion
Address: 200 Edenvale Ave, San Jose, CA 95136-3309 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing