We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a couples getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I came here for a couples getaway, hoping for something that was somewhat romantic and self-contained. We have not been disappointed. The hotel is located in the middle of a suburbian neighborhood, and when we were first driving up to the hotel, I wasn't so sure. But as soon as we arrived on the grounds, it felt like we were in the middle of a luxurious resort, and the outside world disappeared. The rooms are a bit small, but very well appointed...I didn't mind the size at all. They have a beautiful, clean pool and hot tub area, and a comfortable outside lounge area with lots of room, comfortable seating, and even heat lamps for the evening so you can sit outside and have drinks from the adjacent bar. They do have a restaurant...we had the dinner buffet and the Sunday morning champagne brunch buffet...both unbelievable, seriously, (I wished I could have eaten twice as much as I was able to!), and the service staff were all awesome! The grounds are lovely to stroll around with colorful flowers and the mansion itself is a cool centerpiece. The staff here from the front desk to the bellhops were accommodating and helpful to no end. We also felt that this would be a great place to come and stay with our kids, although we'd probably get a suite to have a little more space. This place was great, and we look forward to coming back soon!

Room Tip: Loved the first floor room...it had large windows with a lovely backdrop of all the lush foliage on...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for Dolce Hayes Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed for a business trip but it was such a nice change of accommodations then your typical hotel. The staff is amazing and the grounds are beautiful. Great for early morning walks and the food was very good as well

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DakotaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The mansion itself is gorgeous from the outside, but unless you are staying in one of the mansion rooms (200-400 a night) don't expect to explore the inside.
The guest rooms are regular motel rooms right above the "ballroom"
They are really really small, and you can hear the noise from downstairs. The quality of the rooms are the same as a Motel 6.
The parking lot is a good distance from the mansion, and is shared with a park. When we arrived at night, people from the park were just hanging out in the middle of the parking lot. On the immediate streets leading up to the mansion, expect to see plenty of graffiti from the local gangs...not the best neighborhood.
We checked in, saw our room, and immediately checked out. Very disappointing.
One star for the exterior of the mansion, one star for friendly front desk employee.

Room Tip: If you want to spend the night in the mansion, choose a "Mansion Room"
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jesikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

I sincerely apologize that we could not meet your expectations. As the many reviewers before you have expressed through their words they really enjoyed our property. My sincere regrets that our propertty did not turn out to be what you were expecting.

Once again thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Called and confirmed our reservation 5 hours before arriving just to hear they over booked on rooms and didn't have one for us. After arguing for 10 min they say they have one with 2 beds and we could take it or leave it. Our reservation was for a room with one kingsize bed. The manager on duty and the lady at the desk said they could give us no info because they just started their shift and didn't have a clue about anything other than they overbooked and had to turn many people away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is a wonderful change from chain hotels at fairly comparable prices for the area. The grounds are beautiful with a great public park adjacent to the property. I would recommend this place to anyone, whether for business or pleasure. I would have given them 5 stars but we did have a couple of issues typical to very large hotels (air conditioner issue and shower water temp issues). These were handled to our satisfaction in a timely, professional manner. If that location is good for you then don't miss it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamonte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stay here every year for a work conference. It is a great place if you are looking for a place to stay, eat and rest. It is not near downtown San Jose, museums, or shopping. It sits right in the middle of a neighborhood. But is a beautiful hotel with a great breakfast buffet, pool and fitness center. For a conference it is always a comfortable place and always have drinks and snacks on hand. The rooms and bathrooms are starting to look a little dated (e.g. tile in shower and broken cord for drapes) but it is clean with all the expected amenities. The only problem I had for the first time is the housekeeping folks were right outside my door talking, sounded loud for 5:30-6am and it continued long enough to wake me up and keep me up. I would ask for a room away from the street as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. It is only one side of rooms so plenty others available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyontheMove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Tucked away in a suburban San Jose neighborhood, this hotel was a perfect getaway retreat. Sunny location, quiet, nice little pool with attentive wait person, nice patio bar with outdoor heating. Great destination to get out of Bay Area fog for a night. Restaurant was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMSP624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We are very glad to hear that you discovered us and that we are your near to home getaway spot.

Thank you for your review and kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,251 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#5 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
6.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Address: 200 Edenvale Ave, San Jose, CA 95136-3309 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $150 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing