We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort Nestled in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort Nestled in San Jose”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Hayes Mansion is a beautiful historic property tucked away in a neighborhood and park setting just south of downtown. We got a good price on their spring special which included the buffet breakfast. The grounds look lush with the palms, and well kept flower beds. The main building is great to explore with marble floors, wood panels and stairs, and stain glass skylights. Pool and spa areas looked great and there's a nice outdoor lounge area separate from pool. The room was in Building 3, and was big and beds were comfortable. Towels big and thick. We had a balcony off our room but it looked out of the property toward the street and would've been nicer to look at lovely property view. Got good service from the front desk. Disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open in the evening since hotel didn't have high occupancy during our stay. Room service was available and the bar/lounge served appetizers. It's not real convenient to downtown or other sites but access to freeways are near. Would recommend for a gathering or a get-away with friends or family to relax.

Room Tip: If in Building 3, request balcony room looking over courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    412
    149
    70
    46
See reviews for
339
351
55
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spent Friday through Monday with friends enjoying World Class hospitality. All staff (Front desk, housekeeping, restaurant, bar) EVERYONE....treats you as if you are the only guest! The food and drinks in the bar - great! The breakfast - Great! The grounds - beautiful as always! This is our 4th year of our get-together with friends and looking forward to next year already. Special thanks to Rose for arranging our special weekend, and it was great to finally meet you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Wow!

Thank you very much for making our day. Hearing that our efforts created another great memory of your get together is inspiring and gives validation to our efforts. Which are to make each and every guest feel exactly the way you have expressed in your review.

We as well look forward to get together #5 please reach out to us if there is anything we can do to assist you with your plans. Rose is very thrilled that she was able to be a part of your great experience.

Till next year.
We wish for you and yours a wonderful everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lovely grounds and the main house has wonderful historic details that have been preserved, like marble floors and wood panelling. The rooms vary from what we could tell. Those in the mansion are different from those in the newer sections. Stayed in a newer room and it had all the amenitites you expect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for the great comments and information for our future guests.

Have a wonderful spring and summer. Hopefully you will get a chance to travel over the sunny months in which case we hope to see you back at the Hayes Mansion.

Please inquire about our self walking tours we have available for you. You will be able too enjoy the Mansion from a different perspective as well as become familiar with the Manisons history.

Thank you again for your review we truely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pros: This is a pretty hotel. Hotel rooms are large and clean. Staff is friendly. The property is very nice. They surprisingly included breakfast when we checked in that we were not expecting. The breakfast buffet is large and tasty and is usually $16 per person if not included. A good place to put your family or have an event.

Cons: The only thing I was bummed about was that the spa facilities are only open Friday - Sunday. So you are out of luck during the week. As nice as it is, it is boring to stick around and there are not many good restaurants nearby. If you are going to rent any of the many meeting rooms, have a look at them first because some are very dark and have no windows...you wouldn't want a group in there all day. Other meeting rooms are nice. (I peeked in as many as i could).
Parking lot can get full at night, we found it difficult to get a spot near our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healinghiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your review the pro's and the con's.

I am sorry to hear you did not get to enjoy our spa services during you stay with us. Next stay please ask us at the Front Desk for things to do we have some great places to visit here in San Jose.
We have many different room options for the meetings we host, thank you for mentioning the ones with windows. To that I would like to add that no matter the floor plan the meeting experience at the Dolce Hayes Mansion is unmatched in the Silicon Valley. We strive as our standard to create a positive atmosphere that makes our guests feel comfortable, safe and inspired.

Here a hint for your next stay ask us to park your car for you our valet service is free and we would love to take that task off your hands.

Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hayes Mansion is gorgeous, and historically significant. The hotel developers have done an excellent job of retaining that, while enhancing the property with the things needed to make a small, modern, comfortable conference hotel. It's a surprise to find, as you come in through residential neighborhoods

Very pleased with the overall comfort and convenience. The breakfast buffet is also quite nice, with a very good selection of fruits and non traditional items in addition to the usual fare. The staff does a good job as well.

I am a jaded traveler, on the road 45-50 weeks a year and it takes a lot to get me to say more than "meh"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
45 to 50 weeks a year, whew, now thats on the road. Its makes it all the more satisfying to know that someone as seasoned as yourself noticed us, our property and what we do.

Thank you.

There is no better way to reinforce the importance of our role in our guests experience than to share your comments with our staff. Our efforts and standards are focused on making our guests feel as if they are guests in our home. For a traveler such as yourself this standard can make all the difference.

We really appreciate your comments.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Hayes Mansion is an important part of the history of San Jose and the Blossom Hill Area. It’s wonderful that the building has been preserved. The main part of the hotel is beautiful historic, but the rooms are dated. In the rooms, the beds and pillow are comfortable, but the carpet and curtains are old. The bathroom has dated tile and fixtures. However, it does include two sinks -- very convenient when sharing the room -- one in the shower/toilet room and a separate sink just outside. The in-room safe is old and not big enough for laptops. Wi-fi is fast and reliable. The breakfast buffet has a few tasty options, but the air was so cold in the restaurant (we visited in February) that all the food was lukewarm. When the rooms are finally updated, this place could be top-notch.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PeanutButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the wonderful comment and the constructive feedback. I have forwarded your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager Amber Russell, Chief Engineer Jack Jackson and Yves Hansel. They will look into your concerns and address as necessary and possible.

Thank you once again for your comments we truely appreciate them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love the Hayes Mansion! This Hotel not only has history, and is such a unique hotel, but it has a wonderful staff, awesome location (hidden in a suburban neighborhood, yet close to everything in Silicon Valley/South Bay/San Jose). My husband and I live in San Jose, and had our wedding at the Hayes Mansion, which has such beautiful grounds and great facilities! We hold this Hotel dear to our heart, and always take mini weekend getaways to this hotel, because it is so close to home. The food in their bar and restaurant is wonderful! The staff is always warm and accommodating to your needs. We have been fortunate to be able to stay in one of their large suites, which as a huge white, old fashioned clawfoot bathtub. Very romantic and spacious room. This hotel also has a cozy bar/lounge with fireplace this is very nice if you feel like just having a nice place to relax and have a drink and wonderful appetizers! There is also a "hidden" huge area on the bottom floor of the hotel that a couple pool tables, a bar, and an area for gaming/poker. The bar is usually only open/staffed if you pay to rent the room, however, if you happen to go there on a night when no one rents the room, you are still able to use the rooms and play pool. It is such a great, spacious hotel. It's a really cool place, because it's a historical landmark that used to be a mansion owned by the Hayes Family in the late 1800's. It's seems to be mixture architecturally of a Mediterranean and Victorian style. About 30 years ago, when I was just a child (yes, that does date me quite a bit! ) , the Hayes Mansion was boarded up and dilapidated. It was overgrown with weeds and had broken windows, and seemed quite spooky. But once it was purchased and renovated, and turned into a conference center and hotel, it became the unique gem that it is today. Just gorgeous! and they kept much of the original style and architecture, which is what makes it so wonderful! If you are looking for the most unique, best hotel, with the greatest service and food in San Jose, then Dolce Hayes Mansion is your place! If you are looking for an amazing place to get married, or have a party, Hayes Mansions is your place! Love, Love, Love It! :)

Room Tip: We love the Mansion Suites! They are a great value and really give you a great experience at the Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,221 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
953 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
638 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Property: Dolce Hayes Mansion
Address: 200 Edenvale Ave, San Jose, CA 95136-3309 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing