We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“All Meetings Should Be This Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“All Meetings Should Be This Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having known about this property and staying here for the occasional getaway weekend, the Hayes Mansion was on my short list of options when tasked with a major meeting just 3 months before the event date.

Right from the start the process was easy. Kerry Kuhl, Senior Sales Manger, was professional and understood our needs so that the initial proposal was accurate and what we asked for. The site inspection was well prepared and I was afforded all the time I needed to see the property and meet the staff I would be working with including Cedric Fasbender, General Manager. Cedric set the expectations of what we could expect from the team and boy did they deliver!

Starting out fairly simple and straitforward, our week-long meeting morphed into a bit of a production requiring much more that we originally planned. Every single change and challenge was met with cheerful and helpful suggestions to make everything happen. Inga Stephenson, CMP, was a pleasure to work with - no request was too much, too big or too late, and trust me - we had A LOT of last minute changes to our program. From working with an attendee headcount that significantly exceeded our original estimates, to the last minute requests for vegan meals, it was never a problem to make it happen.

The property itself is a sprawling, beautifully appointed facility, with state of the art AV. The meeting rooms in the mansion were all unique and had lots of natural light. No cavernous, box like meeting rooms here. Even with the windows and balconies, it was still easy to see a PowerPoint presentation. We also used the Edenvale Ballroom, which was roomy enough for our attendance of 200, and well appointed with professional AV personnel (great job, Coy).

The sleeping rooms are comfortable, VERY clean and easily accessible from both the mansion meeting rooms and the convention center. The beds were comfy and it was quiet every night. The WiFi signals were strong and I had no trouble accessing the internet from my room or the meeting rooms.

One of the most important items for our group when it comes to week-long meetings is the quality of the food. Every night our staff was treated to exquisite cuisine in different beautiful surroundings throughout the mansion. From a taco bar, to a family style dinner, to a full barbeque and desserts, nobody went hungry. Breakfast and lunch were equally delicious and offered variety beyond the norm. Even the break refreshments were different and tasty. My attendees raved every day about the food offerings and looked forward to what was going to be served next.

I have been doing meetings like this for over 10 years and it is a rare experience to have everything just fall into place. This meeting, with its constantly changing program, had the potential for some "onsite stress" - but it went flawlessy thanks to the efforts of the Hayes Mansion Team. Every employee was helpful and resposive to whatever we needed, whenever we needed it. As a meeting coordinator, I wouldn't hesitate to return and refer others to this gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryannestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    293
    87
    40
    32
See reviews for
203
243
35
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Amateur hotel with unprofessional presentation and service. Truly dissapointing.

This hotel is no where near the service/quality of a Marriott, Hilton, or W property. They need to raise the bar in all respects.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We are truly sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our property. We strive for excellence in service and product and judging by your review we did not meet those standards.

We would love the opportunity to have you back at our property so that we may turn your negative comparison of us into a positive lasting memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
177 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is my first time staying at this hotel. It's very impressive historical building. Though it's been built for years, the maintenance is very good, you can find free WiFi everywhere in the hotel area and in the guest rooms!
Hotel provides very good service and their staff remembers what you really need.

I love their breakfast buffet - fresh orange juice, my favourite bagels can be found there, and of course other breakfast items and the station for eggs ( fried eggs, omlette )...

Drinks near the pool is also good, especially now - the temperature is so pleasant there.

I like the beef steak and lobster at dinner, clam chowder was so yummy!!!!

I like this hotel very much!

Room Tip: If you stay at 2/F, there's the balcony. Dirnks (wine) with your friends there - will be very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aomori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is beautiful outside, but the decor inside isn't great. I don't think it was good in 1903 when it was built, and the restorers took their cue from it. It's a bit dated as well with the exception of the patio restaurant which was cool, comfy, and had incredible food. Super nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because it was near the home of the brides family as we went up attend a bridal shower. Since I have 5 month old twins we wanted a nice hotel for my husband to stay in while I attended the shower.
We opted for a suite since I had read the rooms were on the small side. I loved the layout! We had a room right off the pool and a table and chairs set up on the pool patio with an access gate to keep it private. There is a small living area off the bed area which would be nice if we brought my mom like we originally planned, as it had a door you could close for privacy. We had enough room for all the baby gear and the check in clerks were a great help getting all of the gear to the room.
Our room came with free breakfast at the restaurant and at $15 pp I wouldn't have bothered if it wasn't included. As it was labor day weekend it was very crowded and they ran out of items such as brown sugar and pineapple. They had a made to order egg station which I loved but you could wait forever or have no wait ( I experienced both).
There is a park right next door for runners and families with small children but you need a car to get to anything else. We enjoyed our stay so much that though the wedding is in Gilroy we are planning on staying here again and driving.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearetteCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raunheim, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Hayes Mansion for the 2. time and it was as great as before. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and clean. I have a suggestion for breakfast: why not put coffee cans on the tables or on the buffet? We sat in a corner most of the time and the waiters always had a long way and we drink a lot of coffee. When restaurant full, they really cannot be everywhere the same time. Why not get silver-looking thermos pots and the guests can help themselves?
Otherwise breakfast was very yummy and the waiters were very helpful and friendly. So was all the staff in the hotel: FO, housekeeping and so on!
I am ready to return any time!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are a little noisy in the early morning due to service trucks and early birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dukeofanniston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had a room in the Conference Hall. My room was comfortable and clean. The hotel and surrounding grounds were very nicely landscape and provided a restful escape during my business trip. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood so you have to drive if you want to go out to eat. The main restaurant was good for breakfast (skip the buffet line, pick the omelet station) but over-priced and tasteless for dinner. The lounge/bar menu was a much better value with better service.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Size room in the Conference Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex99998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
6.2 mi away
The Fairmont San Jose
The Fairmont San Jose
#11 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
10.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
6.0 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#7 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Property: Dolce Hayes Mansion
Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing