We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Well named, this was a mansion and it shows. We had to cut our stay short by one night and figured we would be charged but we were allowed to leave and were not charged for the last night. We did not eat at the hotel, you will have to drive to restaurants. Parking free and ample. Across the street is a park. If you have business in San Jose, give this a try.

Room Tip: As always, go for the rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    359
    122
    61
    43
See reviews for
276
300
44
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

A hidden gem. It is a converted mansion people! Personality!! I wish I could stay there on a regular basis. So, it does have its quirks, because it is not a 'cookie-cutter hotel.' It has a wonderful atmosphere.
And the daily buffet is wonderful. The food is four-star, and the dining room is formal but not pretentious. White linen table cloths and real silverware. The wait-staff is so nice.
I love this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank erictheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed 1 night (3/23/12) and paid for a "Winter Package"; it was $110 (not inc. tax) and included their sumptuous breakfast buffet for the two of us. It was an unbelievable value!
Having never heard of this place, we didn't know what to expect. It's a historic Victorian-era mansion turned hotel: gorgeous expansive park-like grounds just south of San Jose proper. Everything about this place makes you feel like a pampered guest. The staff are helpful, courteous, accommodating; the breakfast buffet was generous and delicious.

Our room had a king-sized bed overlooking the courtyard. It was quiet, comfortable, spotlessly clean.

Everything about this place was perfect and we definitely plan to stay at the Dolce Hayes again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janwg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Hayes Mansion and have once again been spoiled! This was our third year of March get together with friends from NoCal and Central Cal. Service is 1st class, grounds are beautiful, restaurant is great and the Spa facilities are included. Our room included a full breakfast buffet including omelette station. Spa facilities include locker, robe, steam room, exercise facility, indoor spa and out door spa and pool. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Wishing you only the best of everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I attended a week long seminar there and was pleasantly surprised by the excellent customer service from all of their staff. I literally mean ALL of their staff. From the front desk, restaurant staff to the maintenance staff...everyone was so helpful and accomodating. The food was good and the grounds were beautiful. It's more of a vintage hotel but has modern ammenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a top notch hotel. It's not in the busy downtown area, which is what makes your stay here even more enjoyable. It's like living in your own mansion in a nice neighborhood for the time you're there. The grounds are absolutely impeccable, and there's a park right across the road, where you can play tennis or just take some de-stressing walks. The rooms are clean and are equipped with refrigerators and safes. You may want to ask for a room in the newer section, but the older section was comfortable and it still had a flat screen TV. The only thing I would have preferred was a pilowtop mattress to give the beds a little more cushioning, but they weren't overly uncomfortable. The restauarnt has an awesome breakfast buffet every day for $15, which was well worth the price. On Sundays, they have a $30 brunch served after breakfast ends. There's also a small bar that serves appetizer and finger foods. The staff was fantastic, and couldn't do enough to make your stay more pleasureable.. I have health issues and needed to switch to a handicapped room, and they accommodated me without any issue. They always had a smile, and provided any information I needed regarding directions, restaurants in the area, etc. The pool looked very inviting, although it was too cold to use it when I was there in November. They have fire pits going at night, so you can still sit outside even when the weather is chilly. There is a beatiful business room with a computer that you can use for free and bookcases; it's decorated with rich-looking leather furniture, and the whole hotel has that look from a bygone era. The mansion has an interesting history, and you'll want to walk around inside to see all of it. You're close to the Winchester House, Santana Row, malls,Google, and Yahoo. It's only a 1 1/2 hour drive to San Francisco or Carmel. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to be in the San Jose or Silicon Valley area for business or pleasure. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelperson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Beautiful place. Just looking at it makes you feel good.
Me and my husband stayed there for a night. The price was not the lowest but the hotel is really great. Super clean, lot of things to do.
We used the jacuzzi outside and it was great. We brought our own wine and enjoyed it while relaxing in a hot water.
Breakfast was great. Big selection of food. I had an omelet and crepes with fruit. Delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morning_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
6.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Property: Dolce Hayes Mansion
Address: 200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing