We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy joint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Recently visit the Dolce Hayes Mansion for a birthday event. Hidden gem in San Jose. Comfortable and quiet rooms in very serene surroundings. Service was phenomenal from the moment you set foot at the entrance till you checked out including fast room service and good food & drinks. The pricing is very reasonable and reservations were very simple online.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind words; we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Dolce Hayes Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here after attending our holiday party in the reception room. Very nice hotel tucked away in a residential area. Loved seeing the historic pictures placed thru out the hotel of old San Jose. Was also pleasantly surprised on the great breakfast buffet they have. Service and price all in all was great and will be coming back for a weekend getaway since we live in San Jose already.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main building so not sure how those rooms are but ours was over the reception...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrangel6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at Dolce Hayes Mansion for 6 nights for business last week.

Upon arriving, check in was quick and efficient. My room was on the second floor facing the residential area. My room had an "old" smell. It's an older property, so I guess that makes sense. I always travel with a small candle and that did the trick. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were very high quality. The TV's were LCD and had cable to include HBO. It was nice to have free internet.

We ate at the restaurant everyday throughout the week and it was very good. I bit pricey, but it's California; almost everything is more expensive here.

I have to say the customer service stood out the most during my stay here. The service is fantastic. All employees I encountered greeted me even if I was just passing them in the hallway. Everyone was very accomodating.

I used the fitness room a throughout the week and it's adequate, but not excellent. The cardio equipment is nice, but the weight machines are seeing their age and are not in the greatest shape. It would have been nice to have a fan in the fitness center.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ltl_leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed here for 4 days this past July and loved it. It was a ways out of town but that was okay for us. With 2 small kids (3 and 6) we enjoyed the park right across the street. They enjoyed the pool as well. the drive to Great America and into town is not that long (20 minutes or so). We chose to eat out and did not get to try the on site restaurant. the room was clean and comfortable and had a small fridge for us to use. It's a beautiful building, on the older side, but it's been kept up pretty well. Looks like many have their weddings and other function there a lot so there was one day which the hotel looked really busy. We stayed mostly on weekdays so it was quite quiet. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. The hotel is a stunning example of Spanish colonial, the rooms are more Holiday Inn, not a complaint just a statement. The price was very good (read "low") so I cannot complain about anything. We did find an overall smell in the room which was related to whatever cleaner they used. We just kept the windows open and it was fine. We had a breakfast deal so ate every morning at the buffet restaurant (the only breakfast avalable). The buffet was fine although a bit limited perhaps. Was bored with it by morning 3. Once again, it is fine for the $15 charged. This hotel is kind of out in the middle of nowhere so if you are not familiar with SJ, you are stuck there for breakfast. The staff was very nice everywhere, particularly the restaurant.

One thing, we arrived at around 7pm and it was as if the place was closed for the night. We felt stupid, but could not find the lobby for check in! We walked around like dopes with our luggage and eventually found it. It is located through the door under the port cochere. Only one place to eat at that time, which was a neat little bar in the main house. San Jose must be an early town! Would stay here agian without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rvkummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayesMansion, Front Office Manager at Dolce Hayes Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you for your open and honest review.

I apologize for the confusion on the location of our front desk. Being a California historical landmark allows us to have a wonderful presentation while capturing the original Spanish Mediterranean architecture. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently and it was gorgeous! The room was very modern and elegant. The room was quiet and we slept great! The pillows were amazing too.
We had breakfast at the restaurant there was out of this world. We will be back next month again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RCM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Some advise for those of you attempting to make reservations for the Dolce Hayes Mansion. We needed a room for only one night on a Tuesday and spend time surfing the web for a quality property close to where our business meeting was to be held. Although not our first choice, the Hayes Mansion had good reviews and was reasonably priced. We plugged in our info online to Expedia who came back saying no rooms available. Ok, how about Priceline? No rooms available. We went on to Hotels.Com & Booking Buddy & Kayak and found rooms available but they had a two night minimum stay. Not what we were looking for. Then we discovered that Booking.Com had rooms available and NO minimum. Great, lets call the hotel and book directly. So we called the hotel and spoke to a "call center" representative. We stated we needed a reservation for one night only. Her less than polite response was "sorry but we have a two night minimum". We pointed out to her that we could book online and get a lower rate and stay for just the one night. Her response was, "then book on line" I can't help you. What?? You don't want my money? But we have YOU on the line now. Sorry she said, I can't over ride the system and she hung up. The reservation folks at Hayes mansion get a 1/2 star rating for the worst customer service of any property of this class.

So we booked a KING room through Booking.Com for just the one night. Lesson learned... shop around. A two night minimum is NOT required though all travel sites for this property and rooms may be available through different vendors. When we arrived at the hotel we found the property to be just as beautiful as we assumed. Well manicured grounds (groundskeepers get five stars here) and stunning buildings that were properly maintained! (building maintenance crew gets five stars also).

The front desk staff was very proficient and professional and checked us in quickly. We were given a map of the property and keys to our rooms. When we opened the door to the room, we found that we had been placed in a double queen room instead of a King. We called the front desk and were immediately given another room with the reserved King bed. The front desk staff also gets a big thank you for making things right and the coveted five stars! Please note however that they bill you a $50 charge on your credit card for incidentals and credit you back within 3-5 days if you have no further charges to your room. We were not informed of this at the time of arrival, so we were a bit surprised when our total charges were more than expected. We suggest to management that you make it a practice to inform guests of this procedure at check in, rather than surprising your guests later on with the news.

The room we had on the third floor had a balcony facing Edenvale Ave which turned out to be quieter than we thought. The room was spacious, well furnished, and remarkably clean! The bed was comfortable, had quality sheets and lot's of pillows. Wi-Fi worked well, the flat screen TV lacked in channel selection but we weren't there to watch TV anyway. The bath amenities were top quality and the water pressure good. Housekeeping gets a "atta boy" award for doing a superb job in keeping the rooms sparkling clean. Five stars to them!

We did not use any of the facilities, nor eat breakfast their, so it would be unfair to comment about such. The property itself is very beautiful with spacious well kept grounds, and historic value. Would we return? Yes, as long as we book online and avoid the grumpy reservation agents at the call center. Lastly, for the price point we paid, we were shocked to see a bottle of water in the room "for sale" at $4 a pop! Not mineral water, not fountain of youth water, but purified water at $4. Save a few bucks and bring your own!

Room Tip: Third floor balcony rooms really don't much of a view but do allow for outdoor smoking. Also the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HospitalityPros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
6.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,257 reviews
12.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
6.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Hayes Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Hayes Mansion

Address: 200 Edenvale Ave, San Jose, CA 95136-3309 (Formerly Hayes Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Business Hotel in San Jose
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $149 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce Hayes Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a lavish private estate, the Hayes Mansion stands as one of the South Bay's most impressive and distinctive historical structures. Surrounded by lush, emerald green lawns, accented with gardens of vibrant, colorful flowers and guarded by towering palm trees, the 100-year old estate has been refurbished, upgraded and transformed into a luxurious hotel, resort and spa. The Dolce Hayes Mansion, steeped in tradition and rich in history, provides visitors with an extraordinary experience. Leisure guests can enjoy a walk in the park, working out in our fitness center, swimming in our pool, relaxing in the spa, or having a delicious meal in either our restaurant or bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolce Hayes Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hayes Mansion Hotel San Jose
Dolce Hayes Mansion San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing