We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Preschoolers +”

Children's Discovery Museum
Ranked #8 of 137 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive adventure for children in science, technology and cultural diversity.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for Preschoolers +”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a great place to take your preschooler or any child that loves to explore. My 5 year old son loves it and we have been going since he was 4 years old. He especially enjoys the water play area, I suggest you take extra clothes. They have different themes throughout the year and they always have plenty activities for the children to engage in. Average time here for our family is 2 hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gricelda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    98
    26
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for 4 year olds”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took a 4, 2, and 1 year old and I think the 4 year old had the most fun. The others enjoyed it too, but the older kids definitely could appreciate all there was to offer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Educational and Fun”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My kids love this place and as an adult it is interesting enough to keep you entertained. It works for children across age-groups though might be marginally better for the 6-14 range.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a fun treat”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I took my granddaughter and we both loved it. She was 7 and there was plenty to do. There are lots of seating areas for those of us who don't stand forever. What a delightful experience to share with a child. I even made a corn husk doll with her.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephany38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My son will be 3 this Sunday and he really had a ball today in this fascinating museum. We spent 2,5 hours inside and although we could not explore what is outside, we had to leave, because he was tired and wanted to have a nap. :)
Our only problem with the place was that it was extremely noisy and crowded, but I suppose you cannot help it. We visited on a Thursday morning, so I do not want to imagine how packed it is on a Saturday let's say.
I saw quite a few frustrated parents with younger kids (under 1-2), so I would not really recommend this museum for the very littlies, as there are far too many stimuli for them and they cannot enjoy the exhibits as much as older kids do.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Discovery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Children's Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing