We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$137
Expedia.com
$137
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
$133
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
584
255
99
45
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
584
255
99
45
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian community front desk monterey park self parking diamond member convenient location complimentary breakfast upon check per day housekeeping
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

Fist off. I believe in second chance. Second time staying here for 7 nights. Again first day of check in. What do u know! My reservation was canceled again for whatever reason. I was and insured told by the front desk My reservation will not be cxl. What a lie! I booked for 2 queens end up with 1 Kings. For 7 days I had to suffer sleeping on a roller bed. I thought staying at Hilton in San Gabriel was one of the top hotel around. What a joke! Not only I was stuck at 1 king bed. Second That damn fan or water pipe noise was in 24/7. Not only the I had to sleep in a roller bed but couldn’t sleep all week. I didn’t complain cus I know what going to say “ all the rooms are filled” so why bother. FYI only this location I had the most bad experience with.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank kin626
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiltonSanGabriel225, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear GoPlaces45606064046, unfortunately your reservation was cancelled because the reservation was never guaranteed with a credit card. This is a normal requirement at any hotel when making a reservation. If you recall when you originally tried to make the reservation at our front desk, we mentioned that we didn't have a double bed available for the entire 7 nights but we informed you that we will do our best to keep an eye out for any cancellations or changes in availability. Within 24 hours, were able to find the availability to accommodate your needs and we made a reservation with double beds for you. We asked you to provide a credit card to guarantee the reservation and we even sent a reminder letter to you on April 19, the letter stated that we will need a credit card to guarantee and complete your reservation. As for the 7 days of noise and having to sleep on a rollaway, unfortunately, we never had the opportunity to make it right because nothing was mentioned while you were here.

While we try to do our absolute best to assist every guest that stays with us, we are not able to help if we aren't aware of any of the issues while they are here. Thank you for giving us a second chance and we are sorry that you feel that we failed you.
-Tom K., Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

This hotel has a lot of stuff going for it.

The location is pretty interesting - part of a shopping center with many Chinese restaurants. It has a Chinese bakery inside the hotel. There is also another larger shopping center across the street with everything from a 99 Ranch Market to Daiso (the Japanese 100 Yen store - things start at US$1.50 there) to tons of restaurants, bakeries and coffee/drink shops. Even more choices up the street.

There is some parking on the surface but lots more underground. The hotel charges $5/night for overnight guests (self parking). There are a few Diamond parking spots near the entrance and they give you a card to put in the windshield. This helps enforcing the rules.

Pre-arrival phone calls were pleasantly handled. Staff is excellent - Front Desk, Restaurant, Maintenance, Housekeeping.

As others have mentioned, the breakfast is very good. While it does not compare to places like Hilton Tokyo, it is very good by US standards (kind of sad that we expect less in the US for services and quality). There is a decent mix between Western and Chinese options. Since the Chinese are not as rigid with when to eat what, some of the choices are really non-breakfast selections and pretty good.

The room is nice although you can tell the construction/workmanship/maintenance is not the greatest. Can hear the elevator rolling late night and early morning hours. Can also hear talking/alarm going off in my neighbor's room. Housekeeping is a little sloppy as you can feel things stuck on the desk surface (more on that later). There is a mini-refrigerator. The room is kind of dark and the closet is kind of small compared to the nice-sized room and bathroom.

Upon check-in, I asked about upgrade and was informed I already received a 1 class upgrade to a Superior Room as a Hilton Diamond. It turned out my room had a maintenance issue that they could not fix. So, they offered me a bigger room down the hall way. So, you can tell, while within HH policy (i.e. you get an upgrade if they feel like giving you one), the hotel is not very generous with upgrades.

Now, the biggest problem. Both rooms smelled like smoke. Not the terrible strong cheap motel smoke smell but you can smell smoke. This is really a big no no for a Hilton. Luckily, the window can be cracked open a little.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Want2GoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiltonSanGabriel225, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Want2GoHome,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the area and the service from our staff. On behalf of all of us here at Hilton San Gabriel, I'd like to apologize if the rooms had a faint smell of smoke during your stay. While the rooms we assigned to you are non-smoking rooms, it is difficult to determine what may have caused it while you were here. Would you kindly contact us at your convenience to let us know what rooms you stayed in so we can inspect them and to make sure the issue is resolved? I can be reached at tom.kubo2@hilton.com. Thank you for choosing Hilton San Gabriel and for being a loyal Hilton Honors Diamond member.
- Tom K., Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

Hotel was very nice and clean. Dining lounge service was horrible. Before sitting down we confirmed that our party of 4 could sit and order off the dinner menu. The lounge was not busy only four other patrons besides our party. Our initial drink order was taken swiftly but nobody came back to check on us after that. Husband ordered a whisky sour that tasted like watered down whiskey. We had to get up and get our own water refills and eventually the check. Would have ordered dessert and more drinks but nobody ever came back. Very disappointing. Definitely not the relaxing

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Dudfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiltonSanGabriel225, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear Dudfam,
We are very sorry for the lack of service at our bar/lounge. This is a very rare occurrence for us and I will personally look into this. Our hotel has a great reputation for being clean and for providing excellent service to our guests. We hope to have a chance to make it right if you are ever planning to return to the area.
- Tom K., Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

This is a beautiful facility with a great staff, very nice large rooms, and a great Sunday brunch. We relaxed at the bar in the evening and enjoyed chatting with the bartender who also played the piano. It was an easy weekend drive to downtown LA.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiltonSanGabriel225, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear Resort17595724407,
Thank you for choosing Hilton San Gabriel for your recent stay in LA. We are so thankful to have such a great property and some of the best hospitality team members in the industry! Please feel welcome to contact us if you need any assistance in the future.
- Tom K., Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

Many restaurants close by and walking distance to super markets and parks. The hotel offered free afternoon tea and provided free bottles of water, coffee and tea throughout our stay. Many tours pick up from the hotel. Room is fairly spacious and our party of 12 all get early check in to the hotel at 11 am. The staff was very helpful to find us transport and recommended restaurants to us. Very satisfactory stay.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HiltonSanGabriel225, Manager at Hilton Los Angeles / San Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Dear 514tc,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We do welcome many tour groups and travelers from all around the world to our property due to our amazing hotel and the great value that we offer. We are happy to hear that your group of 12 enjoyed the excellent service from our staff and the abundant shops and restaurants within walking distance. Thank you for choosing Hilton San Gabriel.
-Tom K., Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews