We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait!”

Newport Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 227 Restaurants in San Gabriel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

My brother treat us here for lunch. First time to visit the place even if we live nearby. The line was quite long even though it's past lunch. The wait was well worth it! A little expensive for the fish and lobster, but still worth the try. The service is fast and servers are very helpful. Won't mind waiting again next time, even during dinner!

Helpful?
2 Thank neborr357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    36
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Berlicum, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“If you like sautéed lobster Asian style, then better line up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The restaurant opens at 11:30 on Sundays and we dutifully lined up with the rest of the people who come here to eat one of the best sautéed lobster dishes I have ever eaten. If you come after 12:00, be prepared to wait on line!

The main dish here is lobster and it is delicious! They will adjust the saltiness & spiciness to your liking. The waiters are very friendly and helpful. The service is quite fast and again, the lobster is delicious!

As for their other dishes, we had the elephant clam & steamed rock fish, of which, both are very good. All other dishes are pretty much standard Asian fare... but if you like Asian style sautéed lobster, this is the place to be!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For serious seafood lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We came down to SoCal mainly for this restuarant. We had dined there im March 2013 and could not forget how amazing the lobster is. It is super fresh and outh wateringly delicious. We also ordered steamed red rock cod, clams and the viet hot and sour soup. We left the restaurant stuffed and happy. Tip, to avoid the long wait, go before 5:30pm.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KateN285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Lobster ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We've been coming to this place for a couple of years, they continue to impress me.
Their is to die for. Their beef squares are amazing.
We live in Arizona and as soon as we get in and settle down, we are on our way to Newport seafood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Add us to the list of fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had New Year's Eve dinner here, based on a recommendation from a local friend. She was right! This place is the real deal. We had about a 45-min. wait, but it passed quickly reading our Rose Parade prep. information and waiting for our family to arrive from the beach. The food is really good and the service as quick and friendly and helpful as can be expected from the volume these folks do. It was wonderful, and we would seek it out again. We had shrimp with cashews and clams with black bean sauce. We asked them to reduce the spice, and they were able to do so without making it bland. Just plan for the wait, bring a book, and GO.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seebeeGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newport Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Newport Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing