We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Go Before Closing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearman's Galley

Clearman's Galley
Ranked #12 of 227 Restaurants in San Gabriel
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
284 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Never Go Before Closing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Normally the food is always very good but this trip it was horrible.

We went on Memorial Day evening shortly after 8 pm. Since they close at 9 pm, we asked if we still had time to eat dinner. The cashier said it was no problem. We ordered the three piece fish with fries, a sourdough bread bowl with chowder soup, a bowl of chowder, a bowl of red cabbage slaw, and two pieces of cheese bread. We also ordered two iced teas. Right away the sourdough bread bowl with chowder, the bowl of chowder, the red cabbage slaw, and the cheese bread were placed on the tray. We stood there for about five or so minutes waiting for the fish, while the food on the tray got colder. A guy behind the counter told us to go pay for our food and the fish would be delivered to us when it was ready. We did so and soon found that the tea container was empty. The cashier said it would take about five minutes to make more. We sat down at a table and started to eat our soup. The sourdough bread bowl was hard and cold. The chowder tasted like it was the last of it. It lacked salt and it was cold. The red cabbage slaw was cold and very good, as usual. After waiting for about ten minutes, no tea was ever made so we got up and got Sprite. The cashier seemed pleased with herself that she never made any tea for us. When the fish was brought to our table, the fish was hot but the french fries were cold and tasted like they had been sitting in the strainer for awhile. We were very disappointed with the food being that we paid $30.00 for two of us. What we have learned is that we will never go anywhere close to closing time again. The food was horrible and the cashier was rude.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Typical crowd pleasing menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our group of fifty was the first to arrive after a weekend up in the mountains. They were a little late opening up so everyone was anxious and getting hungrier by the minute. Once inside, we patiently waited in the queue. Everything made to order cafeteria style and with a number of combinations, it took time. Portions are large and good for big appetites. Unfortunately, didn't care for the sourdough chili bowl. Bread was good, but chili was too starchy for my taste and need some heat. Burgers and fries seemed to be the crowd pleaser. Seating is family-style and perfect for a large group like ours. No wonder troop returns year after year, and they remember us too!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good, but a little rich for my taste.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Clearman's Galley is great, don't get me wrong. I shy from deep fried dishes and that is what dominates here. Atmosphere is fun and part of what you pay for. Food is wonderful, but this is a really buy place and getting food after ordering can sometimes be a wait. All in all it is a fun place to eat at once in a while. I just prefer a lighter fare.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hmmbirdpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great burgers and wings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

If you like to watch sports in a bar setting...this is the place! They must have 30 TV's showing sports from all over the world. Burgers smothered in chili are the best but try the chicken wings....without a doubt the best I've ever had anywhere. Don't forget to order a "red salad"- red cabbage with a vinegar dressing- awesome! Great bar with a wide variety of beers to choose from. All and all a great neighborhood spot!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ral05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Food is really good but prices are a little high. Atmosphere is great. Recently remodeled, very clean. Big tables. TV's everywhere with every sporting event on. Bar. Love the Blue Cheese Salad and Red Cabbage Salad and Cheese Bread. My daughter loves the burgers and chili fries. I've tried the fried chicken before and it is good -- made to order and comes out very hot.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearman's Galley also viewed

 

Been to Clearman's Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing