We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must have Mexican after touring the Mission”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lunas Restaurant

Lunas Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 227 Restaurants in San Gabriel
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must have Mexican after touring the Mission”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of hours touring the nearby Mission San Gabriel Arcangel one afternoon in late August. Filled with history, we were in the mood for some good Mexican food and a couple of cold cervezas.

Lunas Restaurant didn't disappoint. They say you can tell if the food is going to be good by sampling the Salsa. This has turned out to be true. Chips came with two choices, mild or hot. Go for the hot salsa and a cold Corona (or two). The salsa was chunky, fresh and flavorful. That meant the food would be the same.

We both ordered the fish tacos. Nice pieces of grilled fish, shredded cabbage and soft corn tortillas, served with rice and black beans with melted cheese. Plates were hot. We also ordered the Avocado Enchiladas, which were excellent.


This is a family-owned, casual place in a perfect location. Within a block of the Mission and nearby San Gabriel Mission playhouse. Across from the restaurant is a quaint park with a huge and ancient grapevine, still bearing fruit. Our only complaint was that it was HOT. Late August. Ceiling fans and an upgrade to the air-conditioning would be welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelScott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fresh and homemade”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband I come often. My husband often orders the carne asada tempiquena while order I order the costa azul shrimp. Before the meal is brought out they bring out freshly warm chips with 2 different style salsas. Over all the atmosphere is very clean, the servers are friendly but it's the delicious food that keeps us coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2dominicn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Came here after church and the food is delicious. I had the chichen mole and loved it and my husband had the chili verde burrito was excellent and big. You can tell everything is fresh and the restaurant is very clean. Service was friendly and good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice place. Good food.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our food. I cannot say it was as good as home, but I can recommend it for most people. All the staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food at a Good price”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I eat here with friends after church once or twice a month. The food is delicious and authentically Mexican. Love the menudo, the enchiladas, the chicken in mole sauce. The waitress who waits on us knows us. They are always accommodating. It is clean, well set up. It is located just across the street from the San Gabriel Mission playhouse. It's one of our favorite restaurants in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdsali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lunas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing