We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great bar, really bad food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cask n' Cleaver

Cask n' Cleaver
Ranked #20 of 84 Restaurants in San Dimas
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great bar, really bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went to see the live music in the lounge here last night and decided to have dinner also, bad idea. We had an appetizer of a flat bread pizza that was greasy, my husband had a dry burger literally nothing on it but a slice of onion and tomato, I had the chopped salad that was bland with runny blue cheese dressing, our friend had the ceaser salad that she said was terriable. The prices were way too high for this caliber of food. I would come here again to see music but for sure eat at home first.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carrigowilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Excellent steaks, Shrimp, Burgers, and Sandwiches!
Salad bar isn't extensive, but has a nice selection.
serving staff are very nice and accomodating.
We always have a good experience here!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TyBisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
425 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Smelled horrible; hard to sit in there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I hadn't been in this store for years. The minute I walked in I was overpowered by strong disinfectant smells. The ladies' room smelled like bubble gum; the rest of the restaurant smelled of another strong disinfectant smell. We nearly left.

We sat in the bar for a drink. We were the only ones in the entire store. The bartender and waitress chit chatted between themselves for about 5 minutes before the bartender came over. The manager should know that the waitress parked in the closest spot to the door -- don't you want customers to park there? She was driving a dark Honda.

I had a kabob. The meat was overdone. My friend's steak was good.

The salad bar was excellent. The offerings were fresh and cold.

If I go back to a Cask, it will be to the one in Rancho Cucamonga.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place to relax and enjoy good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

A fairly quiet atmosphere and really good food. The salad bar is the best.

Helpful?
Thank RetTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, CA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Regretable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

I decided to go to the Cask N Cleaver in San Dimas because it was closer to me than the one located in Rancho Cucamonga, which I've been to many times and have always had excellent food. I went with my daughters on a Sunday night July 2009, and while there was barely anyone in the restaurant when we arrived around 6:30 p.m., we had to wait about 5 minutes to be seated. The waitress was curt and obviously wished she was somewhere else. I confirmed that they took the Entertainment Card and from that moment on, I felt like we were treated poorly.
One daughter ordered ribs, which were plentiful & good. Another ordered the Prime French dip, which she was disappointed in because it was so fatty. I ordered the Filet Mignon, medium. It came to the table rare. I sent it back & it was ??put on the grill again or microwaved??? - really unclear as to how they supposedly recooked it. It came back on the same plate with the same potato, which apparently had been microwaved as the sour cream was cooked! When I checked the steak upon it's return, it was medium rare but getting tough. I was afraid to send it back again!
When I got the bill, they didn't take off the ribs (the entertainment book said buy 1 entree, get 1 free, therefore we ordered 2 entrees & the Prime sandwich) , they took off the cost of the sandwich. I questioned this & the waitress (Robin) said she would ask about it.. I saw her speaking with the (balding) manager, shaking her head & them both laughing. But they fixed the bill. Normally I tip 15-20%, but this time I left a 10% tip, I now regret leaving any tip at all! It was not a pleasant dining experience.
If I ever go back to a Cask and Cleaver, it certainly will not be this one!

Helpful?
1 Thank NMBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cask n' Cleaver also viewed

 

Been to Cask n' Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing