We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful lunch”

Avila's El Ranchito
Ranked #16 of 216 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“delightful lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

great location in down town San Clemente. Restaurant is open with out side dinning. Meal was nice friendly and attentive service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    69
    32
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican food...”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The salsa, crunchy beef tacos, and chicken soup have been enough to keep me coming back for years. It is just a solid, go-to kind of place - not "off the charts" in any direction but always very satisfying.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank twofeetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dessert and drinks”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

After dinner at the beach, we walked up the street to find dessert. We all shared empanadas and fried ice cream, and I had an awesome pomegranete margarita. The chips and salsa were awesome too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank katmac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Had lunch with outdoor seating during our walk down Del Mar for the Village Art Fair”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Since it was such beautiful weather during lunch, we opted to be seated outdoors. The service was very attentive and friendly. We ordered one of their appetizers for the four of us and had a couple of beers. The presentation was awesome. The only thing better was the taste of the food. It was very delicious and enjoyed by each of us. The shared appretizer actually filled the four of us. It was a great value! Yum! We would definitely return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Egret1986061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“you must have mama avila's soup”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

right in the center of town on del mar. sit in the bar by the fireplace or in one of the booths. awesome margaritas and specialty amazing soup - chicken, rice, avocado, onions, with corn tortillas it becomes a meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avila's El Ranchito also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Avila's El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing