We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't beat the location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seahorse Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seahorse Resort
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“can't beat the location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Spent 2 days and nights . Great location ,very friendly staff ,free use of beach chairs and beach towels. 1 minute walk to the beach and pier. Lots of great food close by. great surfing and swimming beach. Free Dedicated parking right at the hotel We will be back as soon as we can with the rest of the family for sure !

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rychard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    17
    4
    12
See reviews for
44
69
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, B.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

25 years I first went to Seahorse with a couple of trips in between. Location cannot be beat. Across from beach, walk up the hill to great little commercial area, rent a board and a wetsuit, walk/run the beach trail, and a train stop right across the street. The building was getting tired but improvements are being made. Our room had new windows, kitchen, bathroom and floor. It was home. Cleaning staff is daily and worthy of a bouquet. Even when I said don't bother, a quick kitchen, bathroom cleanup. Oksana is great reception. Sure ... she up sold me at reservation time, but bless her for doing so. Our usual bachelor suite was forgotten for spacious one bedroom and kitchen. We didn't leave for a week except to get groceries and take-out pizza down the street. Thanks.

Room Tip: Train track in front, San Clemente is spending $4m on local audible warning to eliminate the horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgentandArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed at the Sea Horse for our anniversary. What a deal. The room I reserved was already taken so they upgraded me to a one bedroom suite with a kitchen and a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. Loved, Loved, it! Room looked like it was recently re-done. Clean and very comfortable. Within walking distance to the main drag. Quiet. Free parking on the premises. Couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: They have a studio for overnight trips in addition to bedroom suites with kitchens for extended stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We loved our recent stay at the Seahorse Resort for our Anniversary. Being just across the street from the beach is wonderful to be able to enjoy walks and sunset views. San Clemente is charming and filled with great, unique shops and restaurants. So lucky to have discovered this pretty beach town and charming resort. A big thanks to all the staff and owners at The Seahorse who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Owner at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We're thrilled to have been the special spot for your romantic getaway. We love to hear that couples and families keep coming back to the Sea Horse to celebrate special occasions and start new traditions -it truly is an honor for us.

The sunsets this month have been so amazing; they never ceases to mesmerize. We can never quite capture the beauty of our sunsets in photos, but we keep trying in hopes others will be lured into this magical little town of ours. It really does have everything to offer...

We can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The view is the reason you stay at this hotel. We had the #4 Penthouse and could not have asked for a better view. It was large enough with 2 bedrooms and bathrooms, couch, etc.
This resort could use some TLC, paint, doors, screens on the windows and sliding doors. Our room was full of little flies.

The banisters on the deck, chairs and table were dirty and need a good cleaning before guests arrive.

Was great they had towels, umbrellas, and chairs for the beach which was right across the street.

It is on the pricey side for what you get but I guess you are paying for the view and convenience.

Room Tip: You want to be on the top floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessJJYermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Owner at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
The incredible ocean views from our suites are definitely worth it, especially from one of our 2 bedroom suites. These suites are 1400 square feet of comfort, easily sleeping 5-6 guests. With 2 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 oceanfront balconies, a fully equipped kitchen and a spacious living room, you won't need much else to enjoy your stay in beautiful San Clemente...

...Well, maybe some beach gear to enjoy the tranquil sounds of the ocean. We happily provide complimentary beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and sand toys to all guests.

We thank you for your comments and we do hear you - we're making exciting upgrades to all of our suites and can't wait for you to come back and enjoy an even better Sea Horse experience!

Oh,by the way... we don't want to leave anyone in the family out of enjoying a vacation in San Clemente at the Sea Horse, which is why we're happy to welcome your furry kids too - we're dog friendly :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful ocean view across from San Clemente's historic pier. Great friendly and capable management. Quaint rooms. Near great eateries. Been going for several years and love it. Have recommended it to my friends. Dog friendly too. Great place.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Owner at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Uh-oh... we may have stolen your phrase because we also find ourselves referring to the Sea Horse and San Clemente as our little slice of paradise! We're so happy to hear you think so too.

Everything you need during your stay is either in your suite or a short stroll away. San Clemente has the best to offer, from beautiful beaches to delicious cuisine and fun shopping :)

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Kind of an old hotel, but the location is great, the main st with lots of shops and restaurants about 4 blocks away. Had a great time with friends. View from room #2 was great, very close to the pier, they lend you towels and chairs for the beach, no swimming pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite, room # 2 two bedrooms two baths, kitchen, two balconies, the furniture very ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seahorseresort84, Manager at Seahorse Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Our 2 bedroom suites are definitely a great idea if you're coming with a large family or a group of friends. You definitely can't beat the views from both of your private balconies!

Although we don't have a swimming pool on site, we like to say that we offer the biggest swimming pool ever right across the street - the majestic Pacific Ocean :) We just went for a swim the other day and saw a few friends about 40 feet away - a pod of 5 dolphins!

We are working harder than ever on completing upgrades to our suites - come back next year and you'll find wonderful new surprises. Also, keep an eye out for our new website coming soon - it will feature glimpses of the renovations to come! It's hard to contain our excitement :)

Thank you for your stay with us,
The Mckinleys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.3 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#6 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#13 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Resort

Property: Seahorse Resort
Address: 602 Avenida Victoria, San Clemente, CA 92672-5369
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seahorse Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Resort San Clemente
Seahorse Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing