We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider Hampton Inn San Clemente for local hotel stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California, United States
1 review
“Consider Hampton Inn San Clemente for local hotel stay!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family had a wonderful time at your hotel to celebrate a Sweet 16 birthday party with 12 girls. You worked hard to accomodate our needs of requesting double beds and rooms across the hall from each other. The rooms were modern and immaculate. The beds were so comfy. The complimentary buffet breakfast was an extra treat. We all took full advantage of that. The waffle maker was a hit. Everyone had fun! Oh...and Kathryn was awesome! She had to man the front desk between girls soccer team, boys little league, and Sweet 16 party. She even baked us a separate batch of warm/right out of the oven chocolate chip cookies (to go with the gallon of milk I brought to the room) since every time I came downstairs, the tray was empty. She called our room to check on us and let me borrow some scotch tape too. Night helper assisted me in getting DVD player to work. Great staff! Wonderful service. We appreciate the military discount which your hotel offers as well. Thanks for all your help and supporting our troops! Until the next time. Warmly, Vanessa in San Clemente

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    157
    52
    24
    16
See reviews for
303
145
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
malibu
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Really, this could be a three and a half stars review. But the great front desk staff and service makes this a four instead of three star review. We stayed here with about fifteen other families for a sports tourney on a very cold weekend in January.
Universal likes our groups reported: the spacious, clean rooms and comfortable beds (the beds look lumpy due to some kind of mattress topper, but are very cozy!) I am very picky about noise, and can say this did not have the train whistle issues reported in reviews I read for other San Clemente hotels. Also, the management was on top of guest noise issues, calling around once someone complained to make sure the many groups in the hotel settled in early enough for everyone to get a good night's rest. A family of four would be comfortable in one of these suites, as there is space between the master bed area and living room area, and they have microwaves and refridgerators. We all also liked the nice warm cookies that awaited us on arrival - what a nice touch!
Universal group dislikes were: noone seemed to get the heat to work in their rooms, and it was VERY cold. As in 62 degrees in your room cold. We did not call for help, but one family that did said the maintenance guy did not resolve their heat issue. I used my down coat for heat, but later found more blankets were available in the living area closet, so that would have solved the problem for me. And all in all, the breakfast was disliked by many. (Especially unappetizing was the ham and heavily seasoned eggs concoction.) They did have fresh waffles, muffins, etc., but as our kids had games to play these were not big sellers. Fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt were available, along with tea, coffee and juice. Also irritating were the super teeny tiny parking spaces. If you have a really nice car or large SUV, you may be nervous, as the parking is ridiculously tight. But while we were there, the "outside" parking lot never filled up so you could park away from others if needed. We did not use the pool due to the weather, but it looked nice but small.
But the desk staff was awesome when you asked for anything, so overall I would stay again if visiting the area. The group room block worked very well -- it was handled professionally with no reported room glitches, and we feel we got a decent rate. This hotel is in the periphery of San Clemente, not the beach section, which no doubt would have been much pricier. So, in sum, If you want clean, comfortable, quiet, and spacious rooms in the general vicinity, this is a very good home base overall, especially for families or groups.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing golf course, away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stay here whenever we go to the OC to visit family. It's nice to have a place that is comfortable and clean, with good service at a reasonable price. We recommend it to anyone who asks. It's also nice to have the complementary breakfast - waffles, omelets, yogurt...lots of good stuff. And a newspaper in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks onto the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Greeted by Andrea at front desk,immediately made to feel at home with her welcome and the experience at this hotel never fell below the standard she set at reception.Room with superb view of golf course,most comfortable bed and excellent breakfast.Overall,could not fault the place and would thoroughly recommend anyone in the area looking for accommodation to head straight for this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: good view from back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamus147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayberry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Researched hotels in the area, and wanted something convenient to the beaches and the famous San Clemente pier, shops, and restaurants. The Front Desk staff were exceptionally courteous, genuinely friendly, and most helpful. The room was clean, amenities exceeding similar hotels with higher pricing. Parking was ample and convenient, and breakfast was as expected, always a treat with consistent quality.

Although in the process of some remodeling, it didn't affect the operation, or cause any inconvenience. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

It took me a while to choose a hotel in the area, as we were interested in visiting San Juan Capistrano. I picked this hotel based on the photos and the larger rooms. We were not disappointed. We would certainly go back. The rooms were spacious and clean. The parking was great. The surrounding areas and the beach made it a fun stay. My wife and daughter really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPatel_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad that you liked the room. Please keep us in mind if and when you are coming back to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here one night with family. Room was clean, smelled fresh and spacious. Front desk was very friendly, helpful and courteous. We had a golf course view on the third floor and it was very quite . Breakfast service started early so we were able to grab a quick bite before my son's early game. Overall a great hotel in San Clemente.

Room Tip: 3rd floor golf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titans43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPatel_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I really appreciate your great review of our hotel. We strive to provide the best customer service and clean spacious rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.4 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#6 of 18 in San Clemente
392 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Little Inn by the Beach
The Little Inn by the Beach
#16 of 18 in San Clemente
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
Address: 2481 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the new Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, an all-suite hotel with ocean views, resort amenities, friendly service and a romantic Southern California ambiance near San Clemente Beach and Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
Hampton Inn San Clemente
San Clemente Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing