We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2008

This was a clean, comfortable room. The breakfast had many choices and was filling. I found nothing to complain about. My wife and I stayed here on a Thursday night for $130.90. We upgraded to a king suite and it was worth it. The thermostat was digital so you knew exactly how to set the temperature. This was our sixth stop on a trip down Pacific Coast Highway CA1 from Oakland to San Diego. Next stop was SAN airport and back home.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LeesSummitCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 678 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2007

I just stayed for three days in a whirlpool suite. It was 'ok'. Seemed worn and tattered to be honest. 1st floor smelled of milldew when going to breakfast. Air conditioning in room was louder than a 747. Elevator lights were burnt out, and the business center was flooded and the carpet smelled of milldew. The room was clean, but old. Good if you need to be close to I-5...and like others have said...only Hiltion property for miles. I don't think I'll be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kings_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

This place was awesome! All the positive reviews were totally true! The room was spotless and stunning. At first I was a bit hesitant about a room by the freeway but it was not a problem at all. You barely could hear it, considering you were literally right on top of it. The staff was friendly and easy also. Overall, an excellent experience. A+!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seahawksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Just as you might choose to eat at a chain restaurant in an unfamiliar town - because you know what to expect - I chose this Hampton Inn (online) over no-name competitors. (I chose San Clemente because we wanted to do day trips to L.A. and San Diego.)

My family and I just finished a week-long stay at this hotel and we generally liked the place. I did some research before booking, including a Google aerial view, so I had a sense of the property and its surrounding area. Knowing that, when we arrived I asked the clerk
which side of the hotel would be best - the golf course side which gets the morning sun or the ocean (and interstate) side which gets the setting sun. She suggested the golf side and I'm glad she did - the interstate traffic noise is incessant, punctuated by truck dieseling and motorcycles. If you must have some view of the ocean (about eight blocks away) stay on the top floor. Below that, trees begin to block your view.

On the golf side of the hotel, the top floor has three suites with balconies that bump out to give you some sitting room. We had one of them. It overlooked the golf course's drainage ditch and last green, but also had a nice view of private homes as you looked up the hills beyond. Immediately below us was a paved parking area and a side street, on which were parked a huge empty car carrier and a freight container. Looking down and to the side, we could see the hotel swimming pool. (See photos.)

The suite itself was nice and the double beds were very comfortable.
The bedroom also had a good-sized writing table and TV atop a dresser. The bedroom's sliding glass door to the balcony had two locks, a sheer curtain for privacy and a lined drape. The windowless living room had a sofa, chair, coffee and end tables, another TV and a DVD player in an armoire, a closet, a small sink, microwave and midsize refrigerator. A small coffemaker and coffee fixings were on the bathroom counter, along with complimentary toiletries. Wireless internet was free and worked perfectly. (Note: there is no encryption
so there is no data privacy.) We had a couple insect problems - I killed a roach that was crawling along the bedroom wall midweek and trapped another under a glass in the bathroom the last day of our stay.

Don't make your choice to stay here based on the complimentary food service, it isn't up to the level I've come to expect from the Hampton chain. The basics were fine (cereals, breads, bagels, whole fruit, yogurts, coffee, juice machine), although the muffins, biscuits and danish were bland. The hot items were a disappointment; just two a day and they were institutional grade. Sausage patties, pancakes, and french toast sticks were all thaw and heat. The only egg offering during our stay was some kind of pre-formed sunnyside-up egg. One morning there was some kind of speckled goo. The Thursday
night BBQ was accurately described by a recent reviewer; I walked to a liquor store and bought a case of sodas for the guests.

Although the main boutique/antique/cafe street, Avenida Del Mar, is about 1.5 miles north, there are plenty of mini-marts, restaurants, etc. on El Camino Real before you travel that far. Chains like Fatburger, KFC, Starbucks, Ralph's Supermarket, and Blockbuster are also within a mile of the hotel. The Hampton Inn is roughly at the southern end of the commercial district along El Camino Real, with ramps to I-5 a block to the north. Given that, there is less local traffic here.

Summing up, this Hampton Inn is a decent business traveler hotel in a resort area, but it is not a resort hotel.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank Bachmann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Our family (myself, husband and 10 yr old son) have stayed at this hotel for a week at a time for the past 3 summers. Although is is not fancy it is very functional, clean, friendly,reliable and the beds are comfortable! It has a very nice pool/spa area and since its a relatively small hotel one is not overwhelmed by a bunch of loud unsupervised kids using the pool! Too bad there's not more of a variety in their breakfast offerings but one can certainly get full on the breakfast. The hotel also has a washer/dryer for hotel guests which I've ended up using on every vacation!

This hotel is very conveniently located off I-5 and it is easily accessable to most of Orange County and it is right in between LA and San Diego. The traffic to San Diego is terrible so we focus on the number of beaches and activities available in Orange Co.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vgrantatmetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

The suite was not really that great.. As mentioned before from other reviewers, the ocean front view leaves much to be desired. Between you and the beach are a four lane road and the Interstate 5 freeway., about 8 blocks more and over the railroad tracks and your there. You are not really a leisurely strolll to the beach. It is quite aways away. You need to drive. All of the action in San Clemente is on Del Mar Ave. You are not even close to there. The hot breakfast was not really that good. Flat sausage patties and french toast sticks one day, and flat sausage patties and flat scrambled egg patties the next. Along with all of the other usual continental breakfast fare, it was just OK. The mid week poolside BBQ was a joke. A guy grilling hot dogs and hamburgers by the pool. Stale hard buns ,one container of potato salad and one pan of beans, no drink of any kind! I think the price was too high for what you really got.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cooltown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

I had planned an anniversary weekend getaway from LA to the nice town of San Clemente. Upon checking in to the hotel, we were greeted by the girl at the front desk who was very pleasant. She explained everything we needed to know about the hotel. They have a business center in the lobby with FAX, computers, scanner and phones. They also offer free WI-FI throughout the property.
The room was nicely decorated with a good sized refrigerator, microwave, blow dryer, iron and 2 TV's, 1 in the room and the other in the living room with a sofa, 2 chairs and a desk. Our room had a view to the ocean which was nice to wake up to.

The breakfast was better than most hotels that offer continental breakfast. Items included: sausage, french toast sticks, danish, muffins, bagels, toast, cereal, instant oatmeal, fresh fruit, juices, hot chocolate, hot teas, coffee, etc...

The room was very clean and neat. The beds were comfortable.

Overall, I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SaticoyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.4 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Tropicana
Casa Tropicana
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Address: 2481 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: $124 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the new Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, an all-suite hotel with ocean views, resort amenities, friendly service and a romantic Southern California ambiance near San Clemente Beach and Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
Hampton Inn San Clemente
San Clemente Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing