We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, but noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I was in San Clemente for a week for business at the San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station nearby. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, the room was spacious and looked out over the ocean. The only downside was that the hotel is right on I-5, so if you have your balcony door open, it's very loud. With the door closed, however, it wasn't bad. I will likely stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandonRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Marketing Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your comments are very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you again the next time you have to do business in the area, as you really can't beat our proximity to San Onofre. While the oceanview is definitely a perk of our westward facing rooms, our rooms facing the lovely San Clemente municipal golf course offer the same comfort in a more quiet environment, away from the street.

Greetings, your team from the Hampton Inn & Suites San Clemente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 668 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

All the staff members, each & everyone ( I.e. from the front desk, the individuals helping me with my luggage, cleaning staff, & maintenance) were always very friendly, respectful, understanding, & helpful! The people at the front desk were responsive & accomodating! I had a couple of maintenance issues, such as a a light not working & my refridgerator not staying as cool as needed. Staff quickly resolved the issues! The maintence staff was fast to respond! The hotel is generally very quite. I feel very safe here. The rooms are kept clean & neat.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thankfulincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Marketing Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we very much appreciate your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we'll be sure to recognize our team members for a job well done.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Greetings, your team from the Hampton Inn & Suites San Clemente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We found this hotel @ 11:30 at night by chance, they were very accommodating and the price was great for what was included. Most hotels will charge you for parking, internet access & breakfast and at this spot everything was included in the rate.
The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was great. I highly recommend this great little hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marwen98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Marketing Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, we always love to hear from our guests! We sure are happy that you found our hotel at 11:30 in the night, and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you again soon, and appreciate your recommendations.

Greetings, your team from the Hampton Inn & Suites San Clemente!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We got to the coast much later than expected and had resigned ourselves to being lucky to find a clean room. Almost drove by, because I have used Hampton's before and thought they were overpriced for what you got. This has changed my mind, great customer service, clean room with lots of space and a very comfortable bed. Pleasant breakfast also. We talked about laying over for a day just because it was such a refreshing travel experience. Only drawback was parking somewhat limited.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivesalot_225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I stayed here for a week during a business trip and enjoyed the hotel.
It was a bit of a walk from reasonable restaurants, but convenient to the I-5 freeway (there was some road noise at night, so you might want a room NOT facing the freeway).
Rooms were nice, breakfast well stocked, and help was very friendly.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaAz-JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Our room was nice and clean, but it had a very weird set up. What would normally be the entry/living room was the bedroom, and the fold out couch was in the back section of the room with its own door. Therefore, we were right next to the door and the hallway while we slept and could hear every person walking through and talking. The bed also made a loud metallic clanging when we sat down on it. The location was fine though for the family wedding we attended at Casa Romantica and breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Rooms were spacious with a nice sitting area. The extra room is a great feature. Hotel is older but they keep it clean. Parking garage was dirty and flooded which ruined our shoes for vacation breakfast is the average waffles, Danishes, eggs and yogurt ect. Pool is small. Great beach very close. A car would be best. Taco bell, starbucks, Kfc, carls jr and ralphs grocery store are all close enough. Queen suites are on highway/ocean side and double suites on golf coiurse side. This hotel is excellent if you need space for your son that is on liberty from camp pendleton. Like a mini house and within 5 min from SOI. I will stay here again for this reason for sure.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tazolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.4 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
408 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Tropicana
Casa Tropicana
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente

Address: 2481 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: $117 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the new Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente, an all-suite hotel with ocean views, resort amenities, friendly service and a romantic Southern California ambiance near San Clemente Beach and Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
Hampton Inn San Clemente
San Clemente Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing