We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a people bag!”

Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
417 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Bring a people bag!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have been going to Fisherman's for a few years for July 4th. Not an easy ticket to get but so worth it. There is so much food and all fine quality that we ate many meals after the main event at home. We come with our own bottles of wine. There is a corkage fee. We started with a plate loaded with fish, shrimp, crab and oysters and then moved on to yummy chowder. Love that is it red and not white. A big salad that followed and then clams. Most those clams made it home for a second life with Spaghetti. We were a large group and everything ordered was great. I had the halibut which was wonderful and moist and huge. Another person at the table had crab and steak. Took crab home for next day lunch....and some of the steak. For a sea food place great steak. For this event every item on the menu was for 2 people. Finally strawberry shortcake. It was fab and so none of that made it into the to go bag. This is a fix price event. So do you get the idea that there was sooooooooo much food. Not cheap but ate on that meal for days. Service for a hectic event where everyone sits at one time was incredible hats off to our waitress!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    453
    136
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Amazing location and good seafood”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice dinner with family who reside in San Clemente. My husband works in the seafood restaurant business, knows his stuff, and we agreed this was good seafood. We had salmon and halibut dinners including huge, fresh salads. My husband also gave the thumbs up to the chowder. My uncle eats here regularly and swears by the calimari. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. And the location is right on San Clemente Pier with stunning views. A lovely dinner and we will happily return to this restaurant the next time we are in this beautiful area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnzascorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went here with friends for happy hour on the deck! We scored the choice corner table on the deck. They have $1.00 appetizers..and we had a few of those. Got a bucket of mussels (not on happy hour) bottle of wine, pieces of smoked salmon and tuna. Enjoyable way to wind down the day! You can watch the surfers! Sunset wasn't great that night unfortunately. After dinner take a walk down the pier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aztravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Sunset Dinners are a Great Value”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

While the regular dinner choices can be a bit pricey, if you go between 4 pm and 6 pm Monday through Thursday, the sunset dinners are quite reasonable. We went on a Thursday and had the Sunset Dinner Catch of the Day. It consisted of a good-sized slab of yellowtail (fish), veggies, bread and ice cream.

The restaurant has a nice view of San Clemente beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

No one goes to The Fisherman expecting good service--at least, if they've been there before. We go because it has a beautiful setting and decent seafood. (And it's not inexpensive, either-$29.95 for a small piece of halibut!!) On this particular saturday afternoon (5 PM), we were told there would be a 25 minute wait for a shaded seat on the outdoor patio. The wait turned out to be 65 minutes and the seat was in full sun. We sat for 10 minutes before even water was brought to the table. The waitress didn't show up for another 20 minutes. We received bread after 30 minutes, but the main course did not arrive until 65 minutes after we had been seated. Two of the three adults had fish entrees which should have been hot but were barely warm and the third ordered the Asian chicken salad which despite the description otherwise was nothing but mayonnaise-coated chicken (unseasoned, at that) placed on top of cole slaw with six pieces of canned mandarin oranges on top. I am not exaggerating--it was literally coleslaw in all it's mayonnais-ey glory. Gag me!!! We are San Clemente residents and try to support local businesses, but I would NOT recommend this place ever again to ANYONE. The only thing The Fisherman has got going for it is the location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing