We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant on the San Clemente Pier”

Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restaurant on the San Clemente Pier”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

What a find! We strolled the long pier and decided to try the Fisherman's for lunch. We started off with the clam chowder, which was very, very good.I had broiled sea bass (delicious) and my partner had the fish and chips (always his favoirite is such situations).
You have a choice of outside patio dining or inside dining. Both areas were pretty busy on a weekday and we chose outside patio dining. A request to turn on the overhead heaters was quickly accomodated. Out lunch was delightful with very good wait staffing and very tasty food. The price was reasonable...and no charge for the wonderful sea views!! I say go for it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnD21401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    453
    136
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great View, Average Food”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Why do restaurants with the best views tend to have the worst food? Fisherman's is in a prime locatiom. on the pier in San Clemente. The waves crash below your table as you watch surfers ride the world-famous waves. Fisherman's offers restaurant service on the south side of the pier with a full menu, while the north side of the pier has a smaller menu and a large bar. We've dined on both side, and have been underwhelmed every time. The food is expensive, but just not very good. While the restaurant claims to be affiliated with the Fisherman's restaurant on the Seattle waterfront, the quality of the food does not compare (we've dined at the Seattle location). For example, the halibut & chips was not fresh -- it suffered from freezer burn and was over-cooked -- barely edible. You'd expect much better for $17. The kid's burger looked awful. The prawns were ok. Our suggestion -- enjoy the pier but head to downtown San Clemente for a much better meal elsewhere. If you must dine here, stick with clam chowder and a salad.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This restaurant is right at the beginning of the San Clemente Pier. It is in 2 parts: on the left, a dining room, and on the right, the narrow bar with limited indoor seating. Both sides have outdoor seating, complete with big umbrellas and heat big heaters.
It is quite crowded in the daytime and at sunset. Breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner are all served. They have a Happy hour on weekdays, check the website for specials.
On my several visits, it appears to be frequented mostly by visitors. The Amtrack stops, literally, right outside the door. The beach at the pier is very popular beach, and many times you will see surfer competitions or a small outdoor art sale in the area. There is plenty of (pay to parking in a large lot that is nearby, as well as metered on-street parking, if you can find it.
Prices are high, but beside the happy hour, they do feature a limited Sunset Dinner menu on weekdays from 4 – 6 pm.
As for the food, it is good, but not great, even though their website claims they were voted "The Best Seafood in SC". On my last visit, the happy hour special of the day was oysters. They arrived, served at room temperature, and not good at all. The New England clam chowder was marginally better, but it was 95% liquid, 4% potatoes, and while I did not see any for myself, I suspect that clams did help make up the final 1%.
If you go for dinner, order fish. I’ve done so on a few occasions, had it grilled, with whatever vegetables are featured, and it’s been ok. Nothing special, but still good. Keep it simple.
There is a full bar, with a limited wine by the glass list.
Family friendly, but beware bare feet on the pier, even in the outdoor seating area. I watched as a little kid ran around the table and got a very large splinter in her very small foot.
Service is young. they aim to please, they are friendly, they are nice, they sure do work hard (especially in the summer) but they are seasonal and sometimes forget things, like menus, water, silverware, and checking back in after you've been served.
After saying all this, I'd still say, go. Sit outside. Eat something fried or a salad, have a drink. The location is sensational and even with better food to be found elsewhere, you won't be sorry.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lclarknj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Fisherman's is great! Awesome food and great people. Bob runs a tight ship!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBmike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. San Diego County
Level Contributor
137 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting and view - appetizers ok”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We went with friends and took the train from Oceanside to San Clemente....our first stop was the Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar (right next to the train depot). the restaurant is right on the pier. We sat outside on the north side deck.

Absolutely breathtaking location. Lots of umbrellas for shade. Fun watching the surfers. Decent cocktails. We ordered quite a few items and the wedge salad was a hit as was the calamari. The smoked albacore - not so great. Either were the crab cakes and wouldn't order that again. I'd like to give it 4 stars but most of the food ordered between the 6 of us was just not that great........but the view is worth checking out and the drinks were pretty good.

I'd recommend starting an early evening here for a cocktail and then mosy up the road to either Mimosa Cafe, The Shore or Village Mediterranean Rim for dinner.

The service was excellent!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sulphursister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Fisherman's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing