We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for the area, free breakfast, good rooms & location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best value for the area, free breakfast, good rooms & location!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We've stayed at several Best Westerns, and this one was another great deal. We got a basic King-bed room, and we were happy to have a mini-fridge (free from the stupid buyable items) a small sink/wet-bar and a small table to eat a meal at. There was also plenty of desk space and a clean/adequate bathroom. Staff was friendly, and we couldn't find any other hotels in the area offering a free breakfast!
The review would have been a full five stars, if we didn't hear so much noise on the floor above us. The sound isolation was ok though...I think it was just a case of some really stupid guests above us!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool seem to be easier to get to from multiple directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highTechFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    213
    82
    25
    11
See reviews for
187
197
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Like an aging actress, this may wave been pretty or even lovely in an old fashioned motor inn sort of way, but she is past her prime and probably will not be able to be revived regardless of the effort. Most of the rooms have small trashcans below their loud 50's style air conditioners to catch water drippings, peeling paint, lousy parking, useless wireless, broken ice machines all give the impression of a company trying to kerp up, but falling short. They will provide towels for the pool.. That were just about the size of a hand towel... It was pretty funny... Bring your own if you plan on laying out or swimming. It seems to be regularly sold out, but perhaps Best Western just can't justiey the huge undertaking it would take to upgrade this property to 21st century standards. On the upside, thr rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Breakfast is a valient attempt. Food is all packaged-- from the hard boiled eggs, to the oatmeal and egg sandwiches and juices, but it is included, so that is a nice plus. If you are looking for a motor inn type of experience, its just great, but know that even on the Best Western scale, this is on the low end.

Room Tip: They are all about the same, but I did notice a small number had balconies which would have been nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theeshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The property is old, but intriguing. It has an outdoor interior courtyard that is charming with a fountain and seating. My main complaint was the room-granted I did not book early as I was not sure how far I would drive towards SD. I took a chance and was fortunate to find a room in this hotel. I paid a premium price for a mediocre room. I paid extra for a balcony which had a view of a wall. The balcony might have benefited a smoker, but was ridiculous to me a non-smoker.

Room Tip: If planning to be in the area, book ahead-DO NOT waste your money on a balcony or a room touted to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A family emergency brought us to San Clemente without time to book any accommodations. Most of the local motels were booked, but we were able to obtain a 3 night stay at this Best Western until the weekend. Unfortunately, our family member passed away on the day we were to leave the motel. We made a call to the front desk and spoke to Tony Gallegos, explaining our dilemma. Within 5 minutes, he called us back, told us we could continue our stay, in the same room, at the weekday price until the following Tuesday. ALL the staff at the front desk were extremely kind and understanding, and upon checkout, Steve made sure that all billing was in order as promised.
The room itself was very comfortable and clean. Parking was good and we were close to restaurants. If we ever come back to the area for a vacation, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very nice , love the location very clean , clean rooms good breakfast ...will go back and stay there.

Room Tip: Enjoyed my stay there , recommending to other people....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My dad, brother and I stayed at this hotel when my nephew returned from Afghanistan. Overall, it was a good, reasonably priced property with a nice pool. The daily breakfast was also very good. We were within walking distance to restaurants and the beach, which was nice. The rooms were basic, but nice and clean, and the staff were friendly. We booked directly through the hotel, which worked out well because our dates did change and the hotel worked with us to change. If we had to return, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipper711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Overall a nice property with a nice pool and hot tub, breakfast above average, staff was responsive and helpful. Able to walk to the beach, mountain biking trails nearby, easy freeway access. We barbecued by the pool and enjoyed spring break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazcougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.0 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
234 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Address: 1601 N El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-4964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#6 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Casablanca Hotel San Clemente
Best Western San Clemente
San Clemente Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing