We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Inn & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Big Bear Region, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great Inn & Location”
Reviewed November 25, 2010

My stay included my sister & brother-in-law (visiting from Florida). Our rooms (suites) were large, nicely appointed and very clean & comfortable. No amenity was overlooked. My brother-in-law got his first view of the Pacific ocean from our balconies just as the sun was setting (and what a beautiful sunset it was!) All the restaurants and shops we visited were an easy (and enjoyable) walk from the Inn. The staff was well trained and informed and couldn't have made our stay any more enjoyable. Todd Forester, General Manger, was especially courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowwhite1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are always so glad to know that our Guest have such a good time in San Clemente.
The location of the hotel building uphill downtown offers you a great spot for watching the sunset from your private balcony before going for diner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    75
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
84
77
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn San Clemente for about 6 days. It was a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location - close enough to the beach to walk, and close to alot of cute shops and restaurants. There was free parking under the hotel, which was very convenient. Since we were there for 6 days with our 2 young children, we availed ourselves of the laundry facilities, which were clean and well-stocked. We also enjoyed the open air patio for eating or letting our small kids run and play for a bit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carameljava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Your opinion is really important to us, and to our future Guest.
We are proud to offer complementary parking for Guest, San Clemente is so walkable that you might forget your car!
Being located on this quiet street of downtown San Clemente, alow us to maintain this peacefull atmosphere that you and your familly enjoyed, we want you to feel like Home with the laundry facilities, gym, Wi-Fi, pool, to make your stay better than anywhere else.
Check our off-season rate allready open and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Downtown San Clemente,
Ideal location, it's close to restaurants and shopping area,
The hotel itself is clean, rooms are standard, nothing extra but it is all you need when you travel.
Staff is really friendly and helpful, especially the manager (French I guess) who gave us a good tip on local attraction.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NataliaTyurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel, be back soon, there is always something new going on here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The location of this hotel was perfect! The management (Todd Forester) directed us on sites to see and recommened resturants for dining. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. Our room was beautiful and very romantic. Our stay was deffinitely a pleasant one. I would highly recommend anyone looking to stay in the San Clemente area to look into this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hotel.
San Clemente is a great place to stay for a few days to enjoy real southern California spirit, and stay longer to enjoy the central location and visit all those attraction between San Diego and Los Angeles. Our Staff is well aware of what is going on in and around San Clemente, so call us to book your next stay and we will provide you all those recommendation you need to make it great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn in San Clemente. My colleague and I had a wonderful room with a view of the ocean. The location is conveniently located off the 5 freeway and just a few blocks away from the ocean. I was so disappointed that we had to return to work early the next morning, for I really wanted to wander around the cute cute San Clemente neighborhood. There are so many cafes and shops within walking distance to the hotel. Our sleeping room was very clean, and the beds made for a perfect night of rest. The hotel staff was was extremely nice and accommodating. I would definitely recommend the hotel and look forward to visiting the location again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel was perfect for San Clemente!! Friendly, clean, good food, but old school cool!!!
Not a big resort, but just right!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheel2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you for your comment on your Holiday Inn,
As you mentionned, our hotel is not a oversized location, matching San Clemente, beach city atmosphere. We offer, complimentary wifi, business center, 32" flat screen tv, off the I 5 Freeway, and right in downtown, just a short walk from the pier, you can also enjoy our swimming pool, jaccuzzi, and we bought 2 new eliptical and 1 bicycle for our gym.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Recently stayed here while attending my niece’s wedding. The room was clean and well appointed. The location of this motel is convenient to shopping, eating and the beach. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayInn90672, Front Office Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Your opinion is really important to us.
Housekeeping team is really dedicated to keep your room clean, and there is always someone available to dress up the sofa bed on request, bring extra towel to our Guest or any other bathroom items like complimentary razor, shaving cream, comb, ect.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 111 South Avenida de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92672 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Clemente Resort Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the calming, magnificent beauty of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding sun, fun and beachside culture at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection® Member hotel in San Clemente, CA. Our non-smoking San Clemente hotel is located in the historic downtown area of town within walking distance to the pier, beaches, boutique shops and restaurants. Nearby attractions include: Outlets at San Clemente Trestles Beach Casa Romantica Cultural Center Dana Point Harbor Mission San Juan Capistrano Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next work or social event in one of our 3 meeting rooms, which can hold 40 people for banquets and 60 for conferences. Amenities include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Exercise room Business center Outdoor pool Guest room amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, desk with ergonomic chair, in-room tea and coffee and flat-screen TV. Featured rooms face the Pacific Ocean; and some feature a hot tub and balcony. Let the destination reach you at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. San Clemente hotels like ours help you discover the places, moments and experiences that make each place special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing