We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is our second stay at this motel and it was wonderful both times! The hotel staff is especially friendly and go above and beyond in customer service. The rooms are nice and spacious and the a good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 288 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Wow I highly recommend this hotel. From the moment we walked into the door they provided outstanding customer service each day. We arrived earlier than the 3pm check in time and they were able to have us into a room immediately. We had a great ocean-room view from our hotel balcony. The beds were comfy. The bathroom was spacious. I barely had any complaints. As for the breakfast cafe inside the hotel, I recommend the blueberry pancakes! Everything else tasted mediocre. Shane at the front desk was very polite and friendly. The entire staff were phenomenal. If I ever visit San clemente again I'll definitely return to this hotel! I truly enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I'll start off by saying that I gave this property a 4 based on the quality of the rooms, the lobby, and the hotel entrance.They are all very nice, but the pool area was not. Thankfully, that was not important to us. We were with another couple and both of our rooms were very much to our liking, clean and comfortable. We had 2 queens with a choice of pillows, and extremely comfy bedding, an important factor for us as we are not usually good sleepers. Our room was on the "ocean view" side, we thank the staff very much for that! We did not eat breakfast there, preferring to walk to a different spot each morning. This hotel is within walking distance to a lot of places for shopping and eating, but if you want to walk to the ocean, be ready for a long uphill climb back! Off street parking is a plus too. If you want a decently priced hotel that is clean, comfortable, and friendly, don't hesitate to book this one. Thank-you to the very helpful and gracious staff too!

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask for a room with a view, back side of the hotel abuts the highway and can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoLadyUpperMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We moved away from San Clemente a year ago and have been back to visit friends many times. We always stay at this location. It is convenient to everything in town and easy for my teenager to visit friends without needing a ride. The staff is excellent from check in to check out and help to resolve any issues quickly. It is our so cal home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Everyone was so friendly and so nice. The gentleman at the front desk for the night shift gave me an upgrade and I was able to have a beautiful view of the ocean!!! I most definitly will come back to stay on my next vacation

Room Tip: get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diego g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Troy the manager always remembers his guests names and makes everyone feel welcome. The entire staff extend themselves to the needs of the guests. The location is perfect, rooms always clean, great breakfast and great price point. I stay alone and never feel alone. Better than any local B&B 3x the price!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swampy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The facilites and staff, were wonderful in a great locati.on. Convenient to walk San Clemente. I arrived early, and the staff got me my room ahead of the check in time. They were knowledgable about the area, friendly and helpful. I would book here before bothering anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Tropicana
Casa Tropicana
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 111 Avenida de La Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Clemente Resort Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: $107 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the calming, magnificent beauty of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding sun, fun and beachside culture at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection® Member hotel in San Clemente, CA. Our non-smoking San Clemente hotel is located in the historic downtown area of town within walking distance to the pier, beaches, boutique shops and restaurants. Nearby attractions include: Outlets at San Clemente Trestles Beach Casa Romantica Cultural Center Dana Point Harbor Mission San Juan Capistrano Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next work or social event in one of our 3 meeting rooms, which can hold 40 people for banquets and 60 for conferences. Amenities include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Exercise room Business center Outdoor pool Guest room amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, desk with ergonomic chair, in-room tea and coffee and flat-screen TV. Featured rooms face the Pacific Ocean; and some feature a hot tub and balcony. Let the destination reach you at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. San Clemente hotels like ours help you discover the places, moments and experiences that make each place special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing