We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in san clemente”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Went with my girlfriend for a quick getaway. The manager Todd was extremely helpful and suggested a couple of great spots for us to check out on our walk to the pier. It is easy to forget what a nice little town San Clemente is but with the hotel located right in the heart of town it is easy to take it in. Needless to say we had a great stay and the fact that you don't have to deal with crowds associated with the other area beach communities is a huge bonus.

Room Tip: any ocean view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

We enjoyed an overnight stay in San Clemente and was welcomed by Shane W. when we arrived. He was very friendly and helpful and upgraded us to a suite. We enjoyed the view from our room of the ocean.

The hotel was a little dated, but was in good condition for the age. The rooms were updated and the beds very comfortable.

We enjoyed the staff and upgrade and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The service that my father & I received from Troy Morgan and his staff was outstanding. They were very accommodating to our daily needs. The entire staff at the hotel would pleasantly inform us of the various activities to do around town and in the nearby cities. The hotel and the room were kept very clean. The room is spacious and the beds are very comfortable. San Clemente is a small and peaceful town to relax, enjoy the scenery and to forget about the stressful day to day life that we live. It is a wonderful place to spend with family. The Holiday Inn Hotel and its staff just make the stay more memorable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Gurrola,

Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear that you and your father had a relaxing time while you were staying with us. As you know, San Clemente is known for it's laid back and relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I will start by saying I was blown away by the great location, but them we were super impressed by the friendly staff. My friend and had not been to San Clemente before and had no idea where to go for great restaurants or
cocktails. We were waiting for a can for forever and the friendly front desk receptionist Austin gave us the low down on all the best places to go and he was right on the money about each suggestion. Then I left some items in my room and Austin made it a point to have the items shipped back to Te as for me. We had a great trip while staying at this hotel and Austin's customer service made it effortless and worry free. We will see y'all again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Jenbears,

Thank you for your great review! I am happy to hear that Austin was such a big help in assisting you in planning your evening. All of us here at Holiday Inn, San Clemente are experts in the local area, especially when it comes to one of the many great restaurants near the hotel. We hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Very friendly people. Troy was very kind during our stay. Rooms were very clean and we had a wonderful view. We plan on going back and hopefully stay at your place again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Blanca L,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you chose to stay with us for your family vacation. We know there are a lot options for you and your family and we are proud to be your first choice. We hope to see you and your family on your next beach vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a largely undiscovered piece of heaven. The hotel faces the beautiful blue Pacific ocean and is priced so reasonably for what is offered. The staff is absolutely wonderful. Special thanks to Will the chef and Todd the general manager. I don't think you could ever get more for your money than staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geneb261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in April and were pleasantly surprised with the great location. We were able to walk to restaurants and shops on Del Mar Ave. We even made the long walk to the beach. This property is certainly not ocean front, but some of the rooms do offer views of the water. Our room unfortunately faced the I-5 freeway. The room was pretty standard for a Holiday Inn hotel. Not too many upgrades. WiFi worked great though. Parking filled up quickly in the afternoons, but luckily we didn't move our car too much so it wasn't an issue.

Overall it was a nice stay. Perhaps slightly overpriced for what you get, but hotel options in San Clemente are limited.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the freeway for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegL829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear MegL829,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is a delight to read you liked our location and had a nice stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you again for the candid feedback. We look forward to your next visit

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#9 of 18 in San Clemente
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 111 South Avenida de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92672 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Clemente Resort Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: $112 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the calming, magnificent beauty of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding sun, fun and beachside culture at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection® Member hotel in San Clemente, CA. Our non-smoking San Clemente hotel is located in the historic downtown area of town within walking distance to the pier, beaches, boutique shops and restaurants. Nearby attractions include: Outlets at San Clemente Trestles Beach Casa Romantica Cultural Center Dana Point Harbor Mission San Juan Capistrano Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next work or social event in one of our 3 meeting rooms, which can hold 40 people for banquets and 60 for conferences. Amenities include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Exercise room Business center Outdoor pool Guest room amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, desk with ergonomic chair, in-room tea and coffee and flat-screen TV. Featured rooms face the Pacific Ocean; and some feature a hot tub and balcony. Let the destination reach you at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. San Clemente hotels like ours help you discover the places, moments and experiences that make each place special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing