We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Groupon Purchase. Will go back for sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for this hotel and stayed there over Spring Break for 2 nights. The staff was very kind. The room was spacious, and very clean, newly renovated. Bathroom sparkling clean. Great small patio with ocean view (in distance). Great that each room has a nice sized small refrigerator and microwave. Upon checking in, we learned of the $2.95 breakfast deals at the restaurant on site and hoped to go, but never did. Great location as it is a very short walk to shops and GREAT restaurants (We love Nick's!). Todd Forester, the General Manager was super kind and friendly. He made sure our stay was great. And it was! We will stay here again and again, as we love to surf in San Clemente and Dana Point. Only draw back is that the air conditioning unit was an old wall unit and was loud. For the price we paid, and the great value we didn't mind it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view with balcony on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheri j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 287 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay booked through a Groupon deal. Stayed in room 303 and when we first walked in room stunk. Opened sliding door and it seemed better after awhile so being that I was with 3 kids who were anxious to go out and explore I did not ask to change room. One of the kids in our group had a hard time falling to sleep because of the smell. Mentioned to the front desk the next morning and they did offer to move us but again since we were already unpacked and just 1 night left with kids raring to go we left out that day and asked them to look into it. We came back to a room that smelled from cleaning supplies and air freshener but that musty smell remained and we were again required to sleep with patio slider open.With a lot of outside noise from a bar one street over disturbing us.
Then today we had no newspaper and when I inquired at the desk was told" oops sorry we must have run out " Not a whole lot of customer service.
Would not reccomend this hotel and was very disapointed with condition of room and customer service.
Also be aware hotel is pet friendly and if you have a child like I do that is very allergic be prepared for dogs in elevators and possibly previously in your room. My daughter had to double up on her allergy medicine. Child that had difficulty sleeping because of the smell said it smelled like a wet dog
Also at night only 1 staff member and when we needed to changes sheets because 1 child threw up and dirtied her sheet slightly we were brought sheets but had to change the bed ourselves..

Room Tip: Saw previous reviews say ask for 3rd floor front for view but be careful about room 303. Also at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy M, Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your response. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to make the corrections needed to keep our hotel the top rated hotel in San Clemente. We take great pride in delivering exceptional experience to all of our guests and feedback is a great tool to help us stay current on that promise. It is true that we are pet friendly and we do deep clean each room after a pet has visited. We have since done an additional deep clean as well as a shampoo of the carpet in room #303. We hope that you choose to give us another opportunity to become your hotel of choice, and appreciate you as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn is in a great location, it's not ON the beach, as I pictured, it's a few blocks away but you can see the ocean. We purchased a two night Groupon that came with a jacuzzi suite. First, there is a whirlpool tub (in the middle of the room, it's odd) but its definitely NOT a suite. In fact, because it only comes with a king bed and there no rollaways or separate areas with a couch, my husband had to sleep on the floor while the kids and I slept on the bed. There was only ONE person working in the entire hotel the first night, so when our TV broke he had to leave the front desk to help us. He was VERY VERY nice though, and couldn't have been more accommodating.
There is NO FREE BREAKFAST, except that The kids eat free. There were too many little things to make us very comfortable, the pool is a too far from the lobby and You have to walk outside to get there. Overall it's just ok. Very average with issues for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElleWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear ElleWalters,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our and services are superior and we are truly delighted the level of service you received from our staff lived up to your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Bought this deal on Groupon. Went with my daughter for a girls weekend. What a nice hotel. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Clean, beautiful rooms. Close to all. Restaurants within walking and so was boutique shopping. Beach was about 3/4 mile down street from all restaurants and shopping. Could walk everywhere. Nice location. Ocen view rooms were nice. I read that the ones on the back side face the freeway so they would be noisier with freeway traffic. Our room was ocean view, Dana point was just a 5 min. Drive away, but really a neat town to hang out it. Great hotel to stay at. Free parking and wifi too.

Room Tip: Oops no spa. Get the Ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petieriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ocean view from the third floor. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. This hotel is walking distance to many places to eat and to shops. There is a nice refrigerator and a microwave in the room as well as a couch. Ample room! Great place will return again as soon as I possibly can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gryeeeeneyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

After living in San Clemente for many years, I returned for a visit. I was already familiar with the location of this Holiday Inn. I requested a 3rd floor with balcony and ocean view. I arrived quite late and was pleasantly surprised to find exactly what I had requested as well as a room that was clean and fresh ... remodeled just recently! The staff was more than helpful and courteous from beginning to end. Although you are a little bit of a walk to the beach .. the price of the room is very reasonable for ocean view and balcony. And you are walking distance to many great restaurants and San Clemente's downtown!!!! There was also a refrigerator and even a microwave in the room!! I could not have asked for a better stay!! And did I mention ... the weather was absolutely gorgeous .. usually the case in San Clemente!!!! I will definitely stay here on my next visit!!!

Room Tip: One side looks at the freeway ... the other side faces toward the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very friendly staff, check in took only 5 minutes. the room was absolutely beautiful with a nice patio overlooking downtown San Clemente and the ocean. the Jacuzzi tub was definitely a plus, and the best part was that it was located in the corner of the room which allowed you to see the view from the tub. The room was very spacious and clean. The hotel was in a great location, right off the freeway and walking distance to the beach and the pier. An amazing experience overall, definitely recommend for anyone trying to get away for a few days.

Room Tip: Any of the corner rooms with the Jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Behzad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#5 of 18 in San Clemente
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#9 of 18 in San Clemente
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 111 South Avenida de la Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92672 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Clemente Resort Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: $112 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the calming, magnificent beauty of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding sun, fun and beachside culture at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection® Member hotel in San Clemente, CA. Our non-smoking San Clemente hotel is located in the historic downtown area of town within walking distance to the pier, beaches, boutique shops and restaurants. Nearby attractions include: Outlets at San Clemente Trestles Beach Casa Romantica Cultural Center Dana Point Harbor Mission San Juan Capistrano Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next work or social event in one of our 3 meeting rooms, which can hold 40 people for banquets and 60 for conferences. Amenities include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Exercise room Business center Outdoor pool Guest room amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, desk with ergonomic chair, in-room tea and coffee and flat-screen TV. Featured rooms face the Pacific Ocean; and some feature a hot tub and balcony. Let the destination reach you at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. San Clemente hotels like ours help you discover the places, moments and experiences that make each place special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing