We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous, friendly, knowledgable hosts and hostesses.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Truly enjoyed the experience in a downtown, centrally located hotel. Enjoyed the experience of the pier and the Fisherman's Restaurant. Our breakfast was excellent at the hotel. We cannot say enough about your employees. Our stay was quiet and enjoyable. The only problem we had or could complain about was the darn rain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 290 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I were visiting the San Diego, CA area. We had booked and had printed tickets to Disneyland prior to leaving our house in Winchester, VA. We were three quarters of the way to Disneyland when we had discovered that we had left the entrance tickets at our home in Virginia. We stopped at the Holiday Inn at 111 S. Ave de la Estrella and spoke to Mr. Todd Forester, General Manager, and asked him if he could go onto the internet and reprint our tickets. Well, he took the time to help us, even though we were not stayibg there. He spent over a half hour of his time, and saved our vacation. The next time my wife and I visit California, we will make sure to stay at the Holiday Inn there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We hold all of our Yoga for Surfers events at the Holiday Inn San Clemente, and love the attentive, friendly service we get from Todd and his staff. This is a family-owned hotel right in downtown San Clemente, just minutes from shops, cafes, restaurants and the pier/beach. We could hold our events anywhere in town but we always choose this Holiday Inn because we are welcomed like family. Our guests love the clean, fresh modern rooms; they are large, quiet and a perfect place to rest and recharge for all of the fun activities. We have had some of our attendees stay at other locations in town that they booked on their own, but once they saw the location, the amenities and experienced the overall vibe, they wished they had chosen the Holiday Inn. To let you know how much we like it, hubby and I even chose to stay here on our anniversary last year (even though we live only 20 minutes away) because we knew we'd be pampered, and we were right! If you're looking for a great location, very reasonable prices, and a place where the staff bothers to know your name and make sure you feel at home -- all in clean, typical SoCal spanish architecture and style, then look no further! You'll want to come back again and again.

Room Tip: We booked the suite with the jacuzzi! Perfect for an anniversary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Best thing is location, near freeway but easy walk to town, nice beach views (but not on beach). Get an ocean view.

Hotel is a bit rundown. Hot tub broke, tub would not plug, microwave missing turntable, squeaky doors, and first night alarm went off at midnight! Room heater VERY loud. Nice staff tried to apologize but they need better maintenance and upgrades. Good breakfast but it's not included. Pool not heated.

Fine if you want to be near town but not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear GalInSeattle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I travel a lot for work and spend about 50 nights on the road in some of the nicest hotels you will find. This trip, however, was all about our travel baseball team of a group of 13 year olds and their families. Everyone commented on how nice and comfortable the hotel was. What was really impressive was the service from Todd and the rest of the staff who made you feel like you were staying at a five star resort. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We weren't at the much because we were visiting family but as we were coming and going the staff was very friendly. The room was very clean, nice and spacious, even had a mini fridge and microwave. Room includes breakfast with real scrambled eggs. Great location, great price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A very clean and nice hotel with a great location. The staff was extremely proficient and kind in helping us in our move. We continually return to the restaurant for the good food and company even after our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fang83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Tropicana
Casa Tropicana
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
204 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 111 Avenida de La Estrella, San Clemente, CA 92673 (Formerly Holiday Inn San Clemente Resort Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range: $106 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the calming, magnificent beauty of the Pacific Ocean and the surrounding sun, fun and beachside culture at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection® Member hotel in San Clemente, CA. Our non-smoking San Clemente hotel is located in the historic downtown area of town within walking distance to the pier, beaches, boutique shops and restaurants. Nearby attractions include: Outlets at San Clemente Trestles Beach Casa Romantica Cultural Center Dana Point Harbor Mission San Juan Capistrano Invite your friends, family and colleagues to your next work or social event in one of our 3 meeting rooms, which can hold 40 people for banquets and 60 for conferences. Amenities include: Free hot breakfast Free WiFi Exercise room Business center Outdoor pool Guest room amenities include a microwave, refrigerator, desk with ergonomic chair, in-room tea and coffee and flat-screen TV. Featured rooms face the Pacific Ocean; and some feature a hot tub and balcony. Let the destination reach you at The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member. San Clemente hotels like ours help you discover the places, moments and experiences that make each place special. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Clemente Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing