We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast near the pier...”

La Galette Creperie
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast near the pier...”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We bypassed the more busy Breakfast spot along the same street, as well as the restaurant serving breakfast right on the pier for this establishment as we had heard that it was a more refined French Breakfast choice. The reveling friends we were advised by were right. The crepes and associated selections that go along with a great breakfast were delicious. The service was exemplary... Our coffee cups were never empty, and they were friendly and attentive. We ate looking out at the pier and beach, while people watching folks going by drooling from our gorgeous looking well presented food. A lovely way to start the day before exploring the Pier, with the feel of a European side walk café. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffMateas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Rude Service, must have been a bad day”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Given a recent experience at this restaurant, I was very surprised to see how highly rated this restaurant is by other Trip Advisor reviewers. So maybe this review is based on a bad day every place has from time to time. There were four in our party and each ordered something different. In each case the food was mediocre at best. But the real issue we had was with the service. Shortly after delivering the food, the waitress kept trying to remove our plates, as if we were done with our meal, which we were not. If that wasn’t annoying enough we were asked to “hurry up and finish” so we could “give up our table” since others were waiting. In all my years of eating out that has never occurred to me. I’m a local and usually don’t eat in the places tourist frequent during the summer but when our summer visitors leave, I certainly will not be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beware-Cash only”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I took my teenage daughter to breakfast.We were sitting at the very last table outside, furthest from the restaurant and weren't told until we got the bill that they don't accept credit cards. Stick with the regular crepes. The breakfast one with scrambled eggs & ham just tasted like a breakfast burrito minus the flavor. The ham was the cheap chunk ham that tasted like canned ham. And I didn't get a coffee refill until I had to go track someone down and ask. Don't take that table if you want good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cariL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best location and best crepes!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is right across from the pier and has great views and atmosphere, especially sitting at the sidewalk tables. The savory and sweet crepes are great too. They only take cash so be prepared. Weekday breakfast specials are a super deal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Knansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and a great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stopped to eat here on a Monday morning, which probably helped with keeping the crowd down. Paid parking was available just around the corner, but the lot fills up quickly during the day. If you plan ahead, you can find other lots not too far up the beach.
We ate outside, with a view of the pier and the Amtrak train than runs by the beach. The fresh breeze off the ocean is great. The service was quick and pleasant, with a laid back but still upscale feel. Our waitress expected that we would be able to share crepes with the kids, but we loved the first three so much, that we ordered an additional crepe after we finished. The strawberries were actually red all the way through, unlike many places. The bacon egg and cheese crepes may have been our favorite.
Be aware that only cash is accepted, though the sign out front now gives prior warning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank z28colt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galette Creperie also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to La Galette Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing