We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of pluses, but needs work.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Little Inn by the Beach
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Monroe, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of pluses, but needs work.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Close to freeway but good sound proofing except when children were running upstairs. We had a few issues which the owners did their best to resolve. They gave us a discount for the things they couldn't fix. The coffee was good, but nothing especially exciting for the continental breakfast. One car parking per room. Close to beach, town, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLKfromIda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
21
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I traveled to San Clemente to attend my nephew's wedding on the beach. We only stayed there the one night, fortunately. The one-bed room was clean and of average size. There was a small refrigerator that was noisy enough at night to make getting to sleep a little difficult and a microwave we did not use. There is no central AC/Heat but there is a wall unit you would have to run constantly to avoid opening the old single pane window because of the traffic noise from the close-by freeway. My wife says they should name it "The Little Inn By The Freeway".
Parking is very limited and tight. A notice posted in the elevator warns that if you park at any of the nearby businesses you car will be towed. Don't do that. When we returned from the reception at around 11:00 pm that night we had to park on a side street. There were a few open spaces but they are so narrow I would not have been able to open the car door to exit. There was one of the few spaces open in the small parking garage but a large concrete support pillar prevented me from getting my mid-size car into the parking space. All things said our stay there was just ok. Next time we stay in the area we'll spend a few extra dollars for better accommodations. There are plenty to choose from.
BTW, we did have a wonderful breakfast the next morning at The Fisherman's Restaurant And Bar on the pier. The food and service was very good and so was the Bloody Mary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is right off the freeway. Having said that, it is RIGHT OFF THE FREEWAY. Sitting out on the patio enjoying the weather is ruined by the constant drone of vehicles passing by. The one ice machine serving all 3 floors was routinely empty. The remote for our TV was missing its back and the battery fell out. We couldn't change volume or channel all night until it was programmed again. The girl at the front desk got us what we needed, but didn't seem happy about it. The rooms are extremely dated as well. If you are only looking for a bed to sleep in, come here. If you expect a bit more, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Clemente hotels

Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My son and I recently stayed here for 3 days while on college visits in LA/San Diego. It was very convenient to get between both cities, and the rooms were comfortable and a good price. However...parking was free on the property, but crowded; the "continental breakfast" was some granola bars, a few apples and bananas, and small, packaged bagels - walk across the street to Surfin Donuts or the cafe, both were great. It was only a short drive to the beach or pier which was nice. Overall it was a good place when on a budget and not planning to be in the hotel much anyway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padavis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Katrine, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently stayed here with my family of 5. Loved, loved, loved this place! Excellent rooms, great location in orange county, fantastic beach access. Inn is older, but we found it quite charming. I hope to be near this area again to use this inn in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was a good deal! It's not on the beach and the ocean view also has a highway before you see the ocean. If you don't mind a 2 minute drive to Del Mar Dr. (take a left and park in beach parking) this is the place for you! It's not new and doesn't have any amenities but it's a good price for a place to sleep. We stayed in the 2 queen bed room and the beds were soft but comfy. There was a microwave,minifridge, tv. We were at the beach the whole time and only used the minifridge for soda and water though.
If you're looking for a place with a nice continental breakfast you won't like this it's just granola bars and bagels. but across the street is Surfin Doughnuts- worth being in walking distance great local place!!!
I really had fun here but mostly liked it for the price and location. Staff was nice too!

Room Tip: room 204 is where we stayed which is right in the middle of the hotel on 2nd floor i'd imagine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

After having a bad experience at a 4 star hotel in Oceanside, on the night of our wedding, we decided to try and make up for it in San Clemente. We had spent a rediculious amount of money on the room in Oceanside that didnt turn out so good, so we were on a budget. And when you arent spending much, you most certainly cant expect much, but at the little Inn by the beach everything was just great for us! The room was about $70 and the gal at the front desk was very kind. I got a little scared when she handed me the room key and it had room # 303. That was the room # we were in the night before at the other hotel and that turned out not so good! But to our surprise the room was just perfect for us. So CLEAN and very nice style. I am such a germaphobe, but I couldnt have felt more comfotable! : ) We would for sure stay here again and would highly recommend it! Best value for your money! Only negative is you can here the Freeway. But turn on the AC and you wont even notice the noise! : )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.8 mi away
The Volare, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
236 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Inn by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Inn by the Beach

Property: The Little Inn by the Beach
Address: 1819 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672-3245 (Formerly Motel San Clemente)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Little Inn by the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint local family owned Inn with ocean view, yet near Hwy 5, restaurants, shops. We offer a king or 2 queen bed clean, comfortable and spacious rooms with the following amenities:Continental Breakfast Daily Patio and ocean/sunset view Microwave and mini fridgeCoffee maker, iron, iron board, and hair dryerDining and office table and chairsAlarm clock radio with adaptor for Ipod, music deviceTV, DVD player and DVD moviesParking – some coveredLocal restaurants, surf board and bike rental, shopping and night life walking distanceEasy on and off Hwy 5 access, just minutes to San Onofre, Camp Pendleton, Dana Point Harbor, State Park, Beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Little Inn by the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Inn By The Beach Hotel San Clemente
Little Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing