We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Condo Close to the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a small (23 units) timeshare. Our updated 1 bedroom unit, on the top floor, was one of the smaller ones but had everything we needed for 2 people...small kitchen, very nice shower (soft towels :), and a tiny balcony with a view of the beach and ocean. The staff is great, they have several planned activities. There is an underground parking garage. There is a $10.00 per day resort fee. Nearby (within walking distance) is the famous San Clemente Pier, several restaurants and a convenience store. We were there in late October and it was pretty warm, 72-82 degrees and there is no air conditioning in the unit, but there are ceiling fans and you can get an additional fan at the front desk. Some units have bedrooms windows facing the the interior passageway or no window at all, but ours had one that opened to the outside and gave a nice breeze.

There are trains that run into the late evening hours and then start up again about 5 a.m. If you keep the windows closed, you don't hear them very much, but if your windows are open, they may wake you up. The unit itself is pretty soundproof, we didn't hear any of our neighbors....just the train.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the window configuration in the bedroom, especially if you are concerned about havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

We exchanged our week to stay here in early May. The place is 80's dated but it's clean and comfortable. The location is excellent. The hot tub and sauna are great amenities although small in size. We had room 111 - which was right next to the office. We had a peek a boo view of the ocean and our balcony got some sun in the mid afternoon. Being close to the office was okay - not as bad as I thought it could be in terms of noise. We had great meals in town at South of Nick's and Vince and Tina's Deli (take out Lasagna - YUM). We brought back some Italian sausage and cooked it on the BBQ at sunset - very nice. The Cove was a great place to stay. We will definitely come back. It had great access to surfing at the pier and T Street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great place to visit when you want to kick your feet up on the balcony facing the ocean and just breath. Rooms are small, but with two people - it definitely works. Great views, and the pizza from the restaurant below is awesome!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wrldtrvler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I exchanged this for my Carlsbad Seapointe Condo(where I never stayed), and always wanted to explore this area even though living in San Diego. The 1 bedroom was very simple and spacious including a nice gas fireplace and an ocean view including the famous pier. One can hear the ocean waves when tide is in. San Clemente is more old California, has some neat neighborhood cafes and restaurants and includes a lot of independent vendors. The bigger malls are close by. In close driving distance to John Wayne Airport(25 miles) along with Dana Point, Laguna and Newport Beach all north along Route One. I found the staff very friendly and willing to help. Very basic supplies in the rooms, however, they are willing to find whatever you need at the frontdesk including extra blankets or binoculars. I would definitely go back again to explore.

The weather in January went from 50 - 75 degrees during the week, so need to layer when visiting the southern California coast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseanne124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend in January and the weather was sunny and beautiful. My kids told their friends that we were going back to our beach house (love it)! We were greeted by Cindy at check-in and she gave the kids a little goodie bag which they thought was fantastic. The room was clean and we could see the ocean from the balcony. We recognized many of the staff from our stay here before and it was nice to see their smiling faces again. Some of the highlights of the trip were seeing dolphins on the beach trail, going to the Ocean Institute, and seeing whales from the Dana Point Headlands Trail. We will definitely be back to this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny123California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We were fortunate to find San Clemente cove available through our timeshare trade. We stayed Christmas through New Years and had an absolutely fabulous time. Room #103. Just me and my husband. Not an Oceanfront, but could see a strip of the ocean from our large balcony, which was nice. The condo was very spacious and extremely clean. We enjoyed the gas firplace ambiance in the living room. The kitchen was perfectly stocked with a cute dishwasher. We enjoyed the hottub on the 3rd floor and also the sauna room. Even though we stayed during a busy week, the resort never felt overcrowded.
They had activities every day, and we enjoyed the "get to know you breakfast" and the "margarita with chips and salsa night". The staff was super friendly and nice, especially Shannon. They have a Fisherman's restaraunt across the street on the pier with $3.00 dinners each night and we really enjoyed going and loved the sunsets and fun atmosphere there. I've never had a $3.00 dinner that tasted so good! We went to the beach every single day. The resort has beach chairs, towels and boogie boards. We rented wetsuits for $15 up the road and had a BLAST boogieboarding! We jogged along the ocean trail every morning. It was so nice to start the day that way. We just had so much fun! The location is absolutely perfect. We always felt safe. Everyone around us was so happy and friendly. They have some really nice shops up the road and super great restaurants.
We hope to stay here agian, It really was wonderful and we miss being able to relax and enjoy the beautiful ocean!! It was one of our favorite get-a-ways. Wish I was there right now!
Oh by the way, we really loved "Zeek" and will miss him!

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor, because you can hear everything upstairs if you have guests staying above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthernUtahTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We checked into SCC using a VRI resort exchange. I was kind of bummed that we did not get true oceanfront room, but did get an oceanVIEW room which was enjoyed from our patio.
This resort is much nicer than other reviews led me to expect of it. The housekeepers came in 3 times during our stay. We never had to call for new towels or anything at all.
I was hoping for a mostly adult atmosphere, but there were children or possibly elephants staying above us who did a lot of jumping and running which we endured.
We never got to use the outdoor spa because it was always full of rowdy kids when we wanted to use it. The age requirement was not adhered to by those guests which disappointed us.
The location on the beach can't be beat. Train whistles don't bother me and they don't run at night anyway. We went walking every day on the beachwalk and twice enjoyed the happy hour menu across the street at the Fisherman's restaurant. Amazing what $3 will buy for a plate full of good food!
We only live 70 min away so we didn't do any sightseeing, just hung out and enjoyed the great weather we had that week.
The staff was friendly and very helpful. We took in the free margaritas and chips in the member lounge one evening at sunset.

Room Tip: I tried to ask for ocean front and we got there just an hour after check in started but did not get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldDutch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
0.1 mi away
Casa Tropicana
Casa Tropicana
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#12 of 18 in San Clemente
240 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.4 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums

Address: 104 S Alameda Ln, San Clemente, CA 92672-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in San Clemente
Price Range: $174 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury at its finest, the San Clemente timeshare rentals and vacation condos offers more than a vacation; it’s a relaxing experience that will last forever. This Spanish-Village-by-the-Sea retreat is a vacation stay to remember. San Clemente Cove offers decor complementing the buildings light and open Mediterranean architecture. Each room is well-equipped for comfortable living including cable TV, ceiling fans, dishwasher, fireplace, a full kitchen, queen sized beds/sofa sleepers and bathroom. There is NO air-conditioning in units. Check in is at 4 PM and check out is at 11 AM. Please note a Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Resort amenities include internet, beach towels, parking, and phone calls. Guests must be 18 years of age or older with a valid ID and credit card to book and check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Clemente Cove Resort Condominiums Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing